That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Stuff White People Like?

with 16 comments

I found some really disturbing news today.  It turns out the WordPress blog Stuff White People Like (http://stuffwhitepeoplelike.wordpress.com/) just got a $300,000 book deal.  The blog consists of them making a whole bunch of racial stereotypes about stuff white people supposedly like.  I can tell you that as a white person I don’t like half of the junk on their blog.  They say white people like things like sushi or San Francisco.   Look, if you want to know what white people like just ask them.

Not only that, but putting all white people together as one monolithic group is both racist and inaccurate.  White people like a whole bunch of different things.  You wouldn’t find Ted Kennedy and Pat Robertson agreeing on much at all.  It is incredibly wrong to lump all white people into one group.

What would happen if I started a blog called “Stuff black people like?”  I can guarantee people’d be calling it the most racist thing on the internets.  However, as Hussein Obama likes to say lets get beyond race.  Bloggers like myself put out thought provoking and entertaining articles on a day in and day out basis.  Meanwhile we’re hardly a blip on the national liberal media’s screen.  At the same time ridiculous pictures of pets with pigeon English sayings and this white people blog get big book deals.  Those blogs don’t tell you how to think about important issues like mine does.  Those blogs don’t tell you who to vote for and those blogs don’t tell truth to authority like mine does.  Let them have their book offer–I’m going to stick with the 5000 patriotic Americans who have found this blog and use it to form their opinions.

Written by thatsrightnate

April 3, 2008 at 4:21 pm

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think Obama is a Muslim, and he and his wife both hate this country. They listened for 20 years and agree with reverand Wright , or else they would no longer go to that church. America better take a close look at this man that the media wants as our next president. We need to find out where all his money is coming from.Oprah has plenty, and its easy to give it through other people to a candidate. I would never vote for him. He lies and cheats.

    Frank Boyda

    April 4, 2008 at 8:31 am

  2. I think Obama is a Muslim, and he and his wife both hate this country. They listened for 20 years and agree with reverand Wright , or else they would no longer go to that church. America better take a close look at this man that the media wants as our next president. We need to find out where all his money is coming from.Oprah has plenty, and its easy to give it through other people to a candidate. I would never vote for him. He lies and cheats.

    Frank Boyda

    April 4, 2008 at 8:31 am

  3. Nate, Stuff White People like has a post on healthcare that actually pissed me off enough to take them off my blogroll. You, on the other hand, might like it. For my taste, an honest, straightforward conservative like yourself is one thing. Stuff White People Like being harmlessly humorous one minute and then taking a shot at universal health care the next is another thing altogether me. Besides, that’s one that doesn’t have much to do with being white. Or even a particular sort of white.

    I might have to reread it the post. I usually err on the side of thinking that people are only kidding. This time I might have made the opposite mistake.

    zenyenta

    April 4, 2008 at 3:09 pm

  4. Thanks Frank–I would have expected this response to one of my posts about Obama. I think you are right about Barrack Hussein Obama being a Muslim. Why else would he be in that church listening to those sermons?

    thatsrightnate

    April 4, 2008 at 6:36 pm

  5. I can’t believe you haven’t gotten your own book deal, your comments were very insightful. I especially enjoyed the logic you served up on why you think Barack Obama is a muslim. Listening to a black activist (albeit stupid and misguided) christian preacher somehow translates into Obama being a muslim. Not sure how you make that leap but I’m sure your own book deal is on its way! You seem really smart! Sorry if I’m overusing exclamation points but your intelligence has me positively gushing!!

    Narb

    May 3, 2008 at 6:50 pm

  6. Thanks Narb. If I can just get a publisher to see this it would be helpful. I guess they just want broken English and kittens now.

    thatsrightnate

    May 3, 2008 at 11:28 pm

  7. I was being sarcastic. I’m a Republican and you still sound like a wing nut. We can win on ideas, we don’t have to resort to silly attempts at getting people to believe Obama is a muslim. He’s not. He’s a christian and a liberal democrat and very beatable but let’s do it with ideas and not demagoguery.

    Narb

    May 4, 2008 at 1:20 am

  8. I’d really prefer we keep the sarcasm off of this blog. I do find it hard to believe that he’s a Christian with a middle name like Hussein, a last name that rhymes with Osama, and a first name that sounds a lot like an Arab pastry made with apricots and cinnamon.

    thatsrightnate

    May 4, 2008 at 9:00 am

  9. And your response wasn’t sarcastic? I am voting for McCain. We should follow his lead and try to appeal to the better angels of our nature, to try to elevate the conversation, to attempt to promote a political discourse that is worthy of our founding fathers. And not sully the process with silly rumors and childish comments like the one above.

    Narb

    May 4, 2008 at 11:39 am

  10. Well I have to admit that I’m not thrilled with all the founding fathers. As I’ve mentioned earlier on this blog John Adams’ defense of the soldiers accused in the Boston Massacre was the height of lliberal guily lawyering. I believe that Obama’s religion is a legitimate issue. However, today I posted a rebuttal to the unfair Democratic attacks on McCain over the 100 year war thing and an update on the Republican victory in Louisiana. There are plenty of blogs that are entirely about Obama’s muslimness. This isn’t one of them.

    thatsrightnate

    May 4, 2008 at 11:53 am

  11. I’m not just talking about the false accusation of Obama being a muslim, I’m talking about civics, about elevating political discourse, about…oh forget it, wasting my time and yours.

    Narb

    May 4, 2008 at 12:01 pm

  12. It seems that some people can be difficult to reason with. I think that I uphold the utmost journalistic standards. I have a feeling our friend Narb may have been an Obama supporter.

    thatsrightnate

    May 4, 2008 at 1:40 pm

  13. I think the author is just trying to help Americans understand more about ‘stereotyping’ – something which has become an unchecked national pastime, and has been/is a big problem in American culture. Look at the whole WMD thing – a lot of Americans fell for that. It was completely fabricated, just as Lander’s ‘white people’. The book/blog actually does have a very good message once you look a bit deeper. I don’t think the author is showing us ‘all of his cards’ – if so, the ‘gig’ would be up. Lander has a degree in Film Studies, remember that …

    Joe

    January 29, 2009 at 11:23 pm

  14. I don’t think a Film Studies degree gives you the right to slander a whole race of people. If it did I’d be enrolled at The University of Phoenix already.

    thatsrightnate

    January 30, 2009 at 3:42 pm

  15. i’m giving a presentation at my univeristy on wednesday on critical race theory and critical whiteness studies and their application to teaching indigenous legal isues…..
    we’re trying to make it humourous; do you mind if i use parts of this thread?

    (also are all the replies sarcastic? it’s funny eitherway, but i’d like to know)

    v

    May 18, 2009 at 7:08 am

  16. Please feel free to use any part you like. I’m a big supporter of Liberty University’s White Studies program.

    thatsrightnate

    May 18, 2009 at 8:25 am


Leave a Reply

