That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Obama Rezko Apology

with 10 comments

My friends, I would like to thank the many visitors I have had over the last week since the Obama/Rezko story I broke on my blog.    To Taylormarsh.com, Rezkowatch,  Notssmbss.com, S1_zetaboards.com/clinton_supporters, NoQuarterusa.net, and the Hillary’s Voice Yahoo Group you guys are the best.  Together we made history and together we shall see a Republican in the White House in November.

Unfortunately, it is with much personal embarrassment that I must confess that I was the victim of a bogus news story.  The information regarding Obama and Rezko was taken word from word from the Wikipedia article on the Keating Five scandal.  For example here is my story on Obama:

A house apparently is just one thing Rekzo helped Obama with.  It turns out that Edwin J. Gray the head of the Federal Home Loan Bank Board was coerced into calling off an investigation of Rezko by Obama and 4 other US Senators who had received campaign contributions from Rezko. 

In addition to campaign contributions, Michelle Obama and her father had invested $359,100 in a Rezko shopping center in April 2006, a year before Obama met with the regulators. The Obamas sometimes accompanied by their daughters and baby-sitter, had made at least nine trips at Rezko’s expense, sometimes aboard his private jet. Three of the trips were made during vacations to Rezko’s opulent Bahamas retreat at Cat Cay. Obama also did not pay Rezko for some of the trips.  It seems there is more to this Rezko thing than first appeared.  Any politician who would attempt to cheat the system in this way does not deserve to be President.

Here is the Wikipedia article on McCain:

Gray testified that several U.S. senators had approached him and requested that he ease off on the Lincoln investigation. It came out that these senators had been beneficiaries of $300,000 (collective total) in campaign contributions from Keating. In October 1989 The Arizona Republic reported that in addition to campaign contributions, McCain’s wife and her father had invested $359,100 in a Keating shopping center in April 1986, a year before McCain met with the regulators. The paper also reported that the McCains, sometimes accompanied by their daughter and baby-sitter, had made at least nine trips at Keating’s expense, sometimes aboard the American Continental jet. Three of the trips were made during vacations to Keating’s opulent Bahamas retreat at Cat Cay. McCain also did not pay Keating for some of the trips until years after they were taken, after he learned that Keating was in trouble over Lincoln. [1] Lincoln Savings and Loan’s collapse is said to have cost taxpayers $3.4 billion [2].

This allegation set off a series of investigations by the California government, the United States Department of Justice, and the Senate Ethics Committee. The ethics committee’s investigation focused on five senators: Alan Cranston (DCA); Dennis DeConcini (DAZ); John Glenn (DOH); John McCain (RAZ); and Donald W. Riegle, Jr. (DMI), who became known as the “Keating Five”.

Obviously, I was duped.  What makes the matter worse is if I had simply taken the time to use google, I would have reallized I was duped.  However, before long not only was this incorrect information on my message board, but spread throughout the web, but well-meaning and patriotic Americans who simply wanted to make all the facts about Obama known.

I take my share of responsibility for this error, but before people blame either myself or John McCain I ask you to remember that McCain has had a long career of service to this country and a misjudgement was bound to happen at sometime.  Furthermore, a politician has a responsibility to not only avoid impropriety, but also the appearance of impropriety.  The fact that we all so easily believed this about Obama leaves the blame squarely on his doorstep.  If he had avoided the appearance of being so guilty, none of us would have so easily believed this.

For this people who have just wandered onto this blog recently I ask you to stick with me.  Together we can assure a Republican is elected President in November,  As far as I know the ties between Obama and the Reverend Cleophus James of the Triple Rock Church and the $1,000,000 grant from the governor of Illinois were legitimate.  Together we can make sure that that scandal is known by all voters in this great country and move beyond this terrible mistake on my party.  Thank you and God bless.

Written by thatsrightnate

April 7, 2008 at 5:47 am

Posted in Election, Obama, Rezko, Scandal

Tagged with , , ,

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “The fact that we all so easily believed this about Obama leaves the blame squarely on his doorstep. If he had avoided the appearance of being so guilty, none of us would have so easily believed this.” Wow. This amazing statement really undermines your forthright apology for getting the story so wrong and spreading it so far and wide.

    Len Edgerly

    April 7, 2008 at 8:43 am

  2. Well, I guess I don’t have to worry about being off line a lot of Tuesday. I wonder why the press doesn’t dwell more on McCain’s past indiscretions. Or his temper. Or his violation of campaign spending rules. Or anything other than his being a hell of a guy.

    zenyenta

    April 7, 2008 at 1:21 pm

  3. Len – So you don’t think politicians have a responsibility to avoid the appearance of impropiety?

    Zen – You have to admit he is a hell of a guy. Did you see him on Letterman? Hilarious.

    thatsrightnate

    April 7, 2008 at 3:18 pm

  4. Your “share of responsibility”? You have to be kidding – you near total responsibility for having lies on your blog. And I highly doubt you didn’t know it. Move over, Donald Segretti – the latest generation of Republican dirty-tricks are here. You guys can’t win on the merits so you lie and cheat your way in. Way to go.

    wagons

    April 8, 2008 at 10:03 am

  5. I knew Donald Segretti. Donald Segretti was a friend of mine. Nate Peele is no Donald Segretti.

    mgbl426

    April 8, 2008 at 11:57 am

  6. If I had known it I wouldn’t have posted about it. Furthermore, when I found out I was wrong I linked all stories connected to the scandal to my apology so that nobody would be confused. As for Segretti, say what you like, but don’t forget without his mentoring we never would have gotten Karl Rove so he did at least one thing right.

    thatsrightnate

    April 8, 2008 at 3:50 pm

  7. […] However, when I have made an error I have always apologized.  When I posted the details of the Keating Five scandal mistakenly believing it was Obama and Rezko I quickly made amends. Likewise, when I accidentally printed Nazi propaganda while rallying against […]


Leave a Reply

