That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

The Truth About Disabilities

with 11 comments

Recently,  radio commentator Michael Savage has been in hot water because he dared to tell the truth about autism.

On the July 16 edition of his nationally syndicated radio show, Michael Savage claimed that autism is “[a] fraud, a racket.” Savage went on to say, “I’ll tell you what autism is. In 99 percent of the cases, it’s a brat who hasn’t been told to cut the act out. That’s what autism is. What do you mean they scream and they’re silent? They don’t have a father around to tell them, ‘Don’t act like a moron. You’ll get nowhere in life. Stop acting like a putz. Straighten up. Act like a man. Don’t sit there crying and screaming, idiot.’ ” Savage concluded, “[I]f I behaved like a fool, my father called me a fool. And he said to me, ‘Don’t behave like a fool.’ The worst thing he said — ‘Don’t behave like a fool. Don’t be anybody’s dummy. Don’t sound like an idiot. Don’t act like a girl. Don’t cry.’ That’s what I was raised with. That’s what you should raise your children with. Stop with the sensitivity training. You’re turning your son into a girl, and you’re turning your nation into a nation of losers and beaten men. That’s why we have the politicians we have.”

He also called out minority families on faking asthma so their kids would get extra help in school and they’d get extra welfare.  It seems to me the reason people are getting so angry about these comments is because the truth is a very touchy subject.

Most people with mental disabilities have nothing wrong with them.  They are simply looking for an excuse to act up and act different than the norm of society.  While many physical handicaps are simply people trying to get better parking spaces.  If you saw them in the privacy of their own home, you’d be amazed at how well they can get around.

It is about time we stop coddling these people.  If they’re looking for attention, we’re simply making the matter worse.  If their goal is a better parking space or priority airplane seating any accomodations we make are simply going to encourage more people to fake it.  This is America–let’s pull ourselves up by our own bootstraps.

Written by thatsrightnate

July 25, 2008 at 4:08 pm

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’re right Nate, it is getting out of hand. Your nephew listens, without a trace of irony, to a band called “Slow Children at Play”

    steve

    July 25, 2008 at 4:30 pm

  2. i dont know which i feel more for you pity because you obviously are a closed minded redneck with no idea of what it is like to have a child with autism , or anger because you are just so stupid. Autism is not an issue of discipline or good old fashion but kicking as you might put it and if you actually researched it you would know this. I suggest next time you do comment on something you know what the hell you are talking about. Oh and trust me i would park on the friggin moon if it stopped my son having autism. And I seriously hope you never have to find out what that is like!

    natalie

    July 26, 2008 at 12:01 am

  3. In fairness, Natalie it was Michael Savage who espoused those views on autism and asthma. My contention was mostly people trying to fake physical disabilities to get better parking spaces.

    thatsrightnate

    July 26, 2008 at 5:50 am

  4. I got ya, “Thatsright”. I am in a chair so I see it all the time. I pay attention to that crap. You know, how “overweight” is now a disability? B.S., right? Right.

    treadmarkz

    July 29, 2008 at 11:38 pm

  5. Faking it? You have got to be kidding ! I’m from a Marine family and Sir, my son’s have never been raised to be GIRLS!!!! Whatever that means, this “girl” could kick your ass and I’m not a crier. Discipline and rules are our way of life. However, this is our situation… I have a very advanced very well behaved 11yr old that was raised traditionally and excells at all he does! I also have an Autistic 6yr old that was not only raised the very same way but honestly to a much more stern degree because of his issues. We do not baby him, give him what he wants, coddle him or treat him like a “girl” whatever that means. We do love them both very much. My austistic son does not respond to the traditional approach no matter what you do. He’s not faking it! He hates when he loses control and he has enough verbal skills to tell you that. We don’t get anything for him being autistic. We have paid more than the cost of our home in therapy, assistace and the like. He doesn’t get special privaliges, mostly my son misses out on things. Trips that he can’t endure the noise and excitement of, crafts that he can’t endure the frustration of , music that he can’t endure the pitch and volume of, hugs and touches that he wants but can’t endure because his senses just can’t. Who would WANT to fake that life???? Just because you have not had the chance to deal with a child with this type of issue does not mean you know about it. Seeing a meltdown with someone else’s kid and how they deal with that in public doesn’t mean you know!!!!

    Yoursowrong

    August 19, 2008 at 10:33 am

  6. I found this on google, so I am assuming others will too. So hopefully they read this.

    first of all – michael savage is a celebrity who was trying to get exposure, press, and live up to his “inflammatory” radio personality. What he said shouldn’t be regarded as anything more than grandstanding.

    Second – Absolutley people nowdays are self-disabling because they don’t want to be responsible. Couple that with the fact that the Internet has allowed people to self-misdiagnose, as well as doctors to over-diagnose, we do seem to have an epidemic of people pushing the limit way to far on what is just “lazy” and what is a real disability.

    third – you say “Most people with mental disabilities have nothing wrong with them. They are simply looking for an excuse to act up and act different than the norm of society” in a blog post where you have a picture that says “Austistic child may not respond to verbal commands.”

    Please explain to me how my 2 year old son is looking for an excuse to act different from the norm of society?

    Can you tell me why he repeats words over and over again, sometimes just the last syllables (flash light, ight, ight, ight, ight…). Can you tell me why he does not even TURN HIS HEAD or respond to his name, to yelling his name, to screaming at him, to acting like you are going to smack him?

    Can you explain why my son can memorize and recite whole Dr. Suess books, his alphabet, numbers, TV shows… but can’t seem to form a simple sentence on his own to tell us he’s hungry or thirsty, despite our best efforts and the efforts of professionals to help train him to be able to speak and converse even on the simplest of levels?

    Can you explain why instead of playing with toys, he naturally lines them up in order of color and size, and has a meltdown if you disturb them. Mind you, this isn’t a 5 year old doing this, its a 1-2 year old.

    Clearly, you have no experience or knowledge in this matter. It’s sad that you rank so high on a google search.

    The_Passenger

    September 25, 2008 at 12:02 pm

  7. Okay re-reading the original post, I can see the satire in it, including most of the rest of the blog posts. I found this particular post while searching for something totally unrelated, so I really didn’t know to check for satire!

    I am now even more sad that it’s so easy to believe that it would be an actual opinion. ;D

    Perhaps I flew off the handle a little.

    The_Passenger

    September 25, 2008 at 7:20 pm

  8. The Passenger, for me it was like this: when I saw Nate’s post about the “successful boycott to The Dark Knight”, I thought: this guy looks like he’s kidding, but is he? I mean, many people are delusional. Then I read something like Nate nominating Barry Manilow for a White Man of Distinction award and I absolutely knew it was satire!
    He offends everybody. He confused my country (Brazil) with Portugal.

    Lola

    September 25, 2008 at 7:51 pm

  9. If this is satire, it’s certainly deadpan.

    Seems more bigoted but I could be wrong.

    disabilityalert

    December 5, 2008 at 10:50 pm

  10. Satire my ass. It’s an excuse just to make fun of other people. Call it what you want, it’s just an asshole trying to make himself feel better by marginalizing other people.

    And you’re all just feeding into it.

    People are faking having genuine issues because they want attention? Look what you just did, asshole. Attention is all you want, bigot. They have real-lives to live, they don’t pick at you for being an asshole.

    whatever

    March 17, 2010 at 4:10 am

  11. You are a motherfucking idiot. You obviously have no idea what you’re talking about, because autism is a serious mental disability and yes, it is a real mental disability. There are people who cannot think the way you or I can, and this has been proven to me throughout my whole life growing up with a sister with severe autism, trying to explain common social concepts and failing every step of the way, always being unable to get through to her in my quest to help her help herself in her daily life and social outgoings. You’re the kind of person who thinks they’re always right and thinks they know everything, well you’re far fucking from it asshole, and you’ll never know as much as I do on any subject, ever. Fuck you, faggot. Why don’t you just kill yourself, cause if I ever find you, I’ll fucking kill you.

    Alias X Beoulve

    May 24, 2011 at 2:08 pm


Leave a Reply

