That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

An Open Letter to Earvin Johnson

with 3 comments

Dear Mr. Johnson,

First, allow me to state that I am a big fan of you as a basketball player.  I thought you were a classy individual and somebody I wouldn’t have minded having move in next to mean when you were a player.  In fact when you contacted aids I was sure that it was not the result of homosexual behavior and I told that to all my friends.

Your class did not end when your playing career ended.  You became an entrepeneur and your Magic Johnson Theatres have been raking in the cash while bringing high quality movie entertainment to Urban environments.

I am calling on you to be a role model for the black youth who attend your theatres.  Your mom was, I am sure, a God fearing woman.  When she named you Earvin that was the name I am sure she expected you to use.  I must object to the name Magic in the strongest possible way.  I believe that the positive spin your nickname puts on witchcraft could indeed lead the more innocent astray.

I represent a blog with nearly 50,000 readers.  I assume that some of them live in urban environments and frequent your theatres.  I have announced a boycott of the Magic Johnson Treatres until their name is changed to the Earvin Johnson Theatres.  This is no idle threat.  We are directly responsible for Hostess removing the wizard from packages of Fruit Pies.

In closing, I am a big fan and I am sure that you will do the right thing.  If you would like to discuss this matter further please call me at XXX-XXX-XXX.

Sincerely,

Nate Peele

Malachi 3:5 – And I will come near to you to judgment; and I will be a swift witness against the sorcerers, and against the adulterers, and against false swearers, and against those that oppress the hireling in his wages, the widow, and the fatherless, and that turn aside the stranger from his right, and fear not me, saith the LORD of hosts.
Written by thatsrightnate

July 28, 2008 at 5:45 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nate, it’s a good and very timely message. But I wonder if you are the one who should be making the case about mot oppressing a hireling in his wages? Maybe an ellipsis would be better.

    steve

    July 28, 2008 at 6:06 pm

  2. The fact is Magic is known worldwide as “Magic Johnson” and not “Earvin Johnson”. I guess it’s more appealing.
    But somehow I agree with you: Magic was for Basketball; Earvin should be his businessman first name…
    But Earvin did so much for for his community!

    Julien

    July 29, 2008 at 5:57 am

  3. Thank you. I can see by your avatar that you are a basketball fan. I think it will take a lot of basketball fans working together to make this boycott work.

    thatsrightnate

    July 29, 2008 at 6:40 am


Leave a Reply

