That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Sorry for the Lack of Posts

with 2 comments

I found myself only able to make one post last night and for those looking for WMDs I’ve fallen way behind on my White Males of Distinction, but last night was daddy to the rescue time.  My daughter was having a hard time so I tookher to a movie.   She wanted to see The Dark Knight which was out of bounds for obvious reasons and she had no interest in the mummy sequel so I agreed to her second choice–Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants.

I have a favorite theatre for popcorn so we drove a little bit further, but it was worth it.  The movie wasn’t too crowded, but I really thought it was quality entertainment for young women.  The best part for me was the character of Carmen who is chubby like a lot of Hispanic girls get.  When my daughter kept reaching into our communal popcorn tub a little too much, I used Carmen’s weight problem to open up a dialogue with my daughter.  I told her “I bet Carmen pigs out on popcorn too” and I could tell it made an impact.

Yeah, it was worse than a chick flick it was a teen chick flick, but it was a good one and these are the types of memories of her old man that my daughter will cherish into adulthood.  She said there weren’t any other movies coming out that she wanted to see this year, but I think we might just make this a family tradition.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s cute how your eyes are blinded by a father’s love.

    steve

    August 10, 2008 at 5:01 pm

  2. Steve, you’re a riot too! Are you real or just one of Nate’s fictional characters? (like Nate’s daughter, because… come on!).

    Lola

    August 11, 2008 at 8:53 pm


Leave a Reply

