That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

A Tale of Two Employees

with one comment

As I have mentioned before, I run a successful self-storage business.  A few years ago, I had two candidates apply for the same job.  One was black and one was white, but that had nothing to do with my decision.

The black candidate was named Hussein.  I never really found out if he was Muslim, but he swore he wasn’t.  He was a very bright boy.  He was editor of his school’s paper and was at the top of his high school class.  He could have gone to an Ivy League college, but wanted to go to community college for 2 years to help out his parents.

The white candidate was named Joe.  He wasn’t much of a student.  He finished in the bottom 5 of his class and he had a terrible temper.  He had a problem with lying a lot.  Most people wouldn’t even have considered him, but I loved his unconventional way of doing things.

When I asked them what they thought of my business, Hussein said to me, “I think your business is great, but it isn’t doing as well as it could be.  I have a plan that could save you $1,200 a month by going to a computerized inventory system.”  He handed me a comprehensive plan and I have to admit it was impressive.

When asked the same question, Joe said “I think the fundamentals of your business are strong.” I was intrigued and I asked him how he would do things differently.   He looked me straight in the eyes and said, “I’d change stuff”.

I knew I had my man.  Hussein was bright, but he couldn’t compete with Joe’s sacrifice he had made for his country as a veteran.  Also, Joe told me that when they were waiting to be interviewed Hussein was talking about how he would ruin my business.  Joe has been a great employee for me ever since.  Hmm, if only picking a President was so easy.

Written by thatsrightnate

September 15, 2008 at 6:48 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Even though your teenage daughter is not attractive, I think you made the RIGHT choice. Not that I support choice or anything.

    steve

    September 15, 2008 at 7:37 pm


Leave a Reply

