That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Parents Must Monitor Internet

with one comment

Ransacking her room is my next step

Ransacking her room is my next step

I find it difficult at times to fulfill my duties as a father of a soon to be teenager since my divorce.  She spends the week and every other weekend with her mother who is not a very involved parent and a very apolitical person.  I’ve tried everything I can think of to monitor , but it just isn’t easy when she’s not in the same house.

After spending the weekend at my place, she accidentally left her laptop behind.  Needless to say, I went through it with a fine tooth comb.  First, I checked her bookmarks and the normal stuff was there–a tatoo she wants to get, a lot of music sites, some of her friends’ myspace places, but nothing real incriminating.  When I went through her history however, I found Talking Points Memo, ThinkProgress.Org, Move On.Org, and the Obama campaign site.

Needless to say, I was ashen.  I waited for to swing by afterschool and get it.  When she got here I went through her purse and sure enough there was an Obama button.  She tried telling me she was holding it for a friend, but I know better.  I’m going to have a long talk with her mother tonight, but I hate seeing my daughter sneak around behind our backs to support Democrats.

Written by thatsrightnate

October 14, 2008 at 6:42 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh my, I can’t imagine what you must be going through…You think you’re doing everything right and then…

    Carolyn D.

    October 15, 2008 at 10:18 am


Leave a Reply

