That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Last Presidential Debate Live Blog

with 5 comments

I am really going to miss these debates.  Other than suing state attorney generals to prevent voter fraud, the debates are my favorite part of the election season.  I have my Mountain Dew and my doughnuts and I’m ready to blog.  I hope you’ll join me in just about a half hour for live blogging of the debate.

7:54 – Looking at the undecideds on CNN I have to wonder, if you are still undecided are you really reliably intelligent enough to operate a dial?

8:00 – This is going to be McCain in his element with his back against the rope and everybody counting him out. If I had to rename him it’d be Rocky Maverick.

8:02 – Oh sitting down. This is good for McCain. I think Bob just put down the other two moderators.

8:03 – One thing about old people is they always know who is in the hospital with what ailment. McCain has used this strategy twice successfully now. He forgot Cheney now.

8:04 – I sadly agree with Obama here. If the working poor could just access their investments, things would work a lot better.

8:08 – Joe Worksaburger? If McCain made that name up they’ll know.

8:11 – Now he’s Joe the Plumber. I like this guy. I’d like to get a beer with him.

8:12 – The last Presidential election where plumbers were this important was 1972 when Nixon’s plumbers broke into DNC headquarters.

8:17 – The first rule of surgery is use the hatchet and then use the scalpel.

8:19 – I have to agree with McCain on not funding the Planetarium in Chicago. What does Astronomy and space have to do with the jobs of tomorrow? That’s 1950s stuff from when we were chasing Sputnik.

8:20 – It is amazing when you look at impartial conservative watchdog organizations, they all seem to impartially prefer McCain.

8:23 – Its amazing that the Democrats can’t stand Obama either

8:24 – McCain brought climate change to the floor of the senate by insisting if people were cold they should wear a sweater.

8:26 – If Obama had agreed to do town halls the people at the McCain rallies wouldn’t be yelling kill him, they’d be too busy scoring the debates. Now he deserves all the deceptive ads he gets.

8:28 – Obama is just so negative.

8:31 – Joe the Plumber is back. I bet he knows Larry the Cable Guy. Now that guy is funny.

8:33 – Anytime you have a rally with 15,000 or 20,000 people you’re going to have some nutjobs. I think this explains a lot about what went wrong at Nuremberg.

8:36 – Wow ACORN may be capable of destroying the fabric of Democracy–COBRA, HYDRA, and CONTROL failed, but ACORN may succeed.

8:39 – Obama has to come clean about whose living rooms he’s been in and when he was in them.

8:40 – McCain is going to bring Mavericky people in the government.  Isn’t it obvious?

8:42 – Palin is a bresh of freath air.

8:43 – Palin understands special needs kids. That’s why she cut the funding for Special Olympics in Alaska–those people don’t need sports. It isn’t like they’re going to make the NBA.

8:45 – Wow if Biden had his way, Iraq wouldn’t be a very good place to live, would it?

8:49 – Obama won’t say what he’ll do in 4 years. Who cares about 10? I want to stop importing oil for my Jeep Cherokee now.

8:49 – Shoot, I think McCain just dozed off. That doesn’t look presidential.

8:51 – McCain is sharp. You’ve got to watch Obama carefully.

8:52 – I think the reason that a lot of Colombia’s exports to the US aren’t taxed is because they’re illegal.

8:53 – McCain wants Obama to travel a lot.

8:56 – Can’t McCain make points against Obama without trashing Herbert Hoover? If there’s anything that will make him lose my support, that’s it.

8:57 – It shows you how far America has come that Obama and McCain are allowed to be in the same pool.

8:59 – McCain is right. Let’s give the rest of this country the same high quality medical care that the veterans have. Joe the Plumber would like that.

9:02 – Whose fault is it these uninsured people got old and unhealthy? Obama needs to worry about the rest of us.

9:04 – Joe is rich now!! Awesome!!

9:04 – I’m sick of fat cats getting all these plastic surgeries and transplants just because they can.

9:07 – I like McCain’s stance on judges. Don’t nominate judges based on their philosophy, but by their qualifications which include being smart enough to agree with your philosophy.

9:12 – I wish I knew morse code. I think McCain has a message for me.

9:16 – Our education is poor because we have lazy teachers. Duh.

9:18 – I’m still crushed that Emily seems to be supporting Obama.

9:19 – We should bring the New Orleans educational miracle to the rest of the country.

9:20 – McCain has a great point here. If somebody’s been in the military there is no reason for them to take a competency test to become a teacher.

9:22 – Charter schools are the answer. There’s no reason at all you can’t get just as good a teacher for less money and no job protection. Who wouldn’t want to be in lecturing 30 7th graders on the proper use of commas in inner city Newark?

9:24 – I wish Sarah Palin was there tonight. She’s very mavericky.

9:26 – Boom! McCain just laid the smackdown on Obama.

9:31 – Obama got killed! I liked how heartfelt McCain was in talking to Obama at the end.

Thanks for tuning into more live debate coverage. So far in our debate its 3-0 that McCain is kicking his butt. Let’s hear your opinion. Where did McCain win it tonight?

Written by thatsrightnate

October 15, 2008 at 6:38 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Last Presidential Debate Live Blog October 15, 2008 at 9:04 pm […]

  2. I didn’t watch the whole debate, just a part of it. But I found it incredible when McCain said that no one would like a health care system like the one in Canada and England. Wow, hasn’t he watched Sicko? I’m from a poor (but glorious) country, Brazil, and we’d love to have the same health care people have in Canada and England. But I’m beginning to realize that even our health care sytstem is better than yours…
    Ah, did you notice McCain said that Sarah Palin understands the needs of autistic children better than anyone else in the US… twice?
    Ann Coulter is saying that polls don’t mean s*** and that McCain is going to win. Do you agree?

    Lola

    October 16, 2008 at 8:07 am

  3. No one knows s*** like Ann Coulter, she must be right.

    steve

    October 16, 2008 at 8:16 am

  4. I just keep doing double-takes reading your articles and wondering if this blog is one big satire…

    John Mora

    October 16, 2008 at 10:48 am

  5. Did you ever think Nate that maybe naming your daughter “Emily Colin-Powell Peele” might have been a bad idea. It put the hip hop in her attitude and that’s what has her experimenting with Democrats. Just don’t let Obama be her gateway Democrat (and for God’s sake, don’t let her see the Tribune on Sunday, it would break your daddy’s heart).

    steve

    October 17, 2008 at 3:27 pm


Leave a comment