That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Tom the Bartender on Politics

with 9 comments

I stopped off at a local watering hole for a beer on the way home from work today and I got to discuss the election with the bartender.  Tommy has been working at the bar for a decade now.  He’s in his middle-thirties.   His wife is a secretary and he’s got two kids.

“Hey Tommy,” I said

“Nate–how’re you doing?” he replied

“I don’t know Tommy.  I’m getting worried about this election,” I said as he poured my a draft.

“I know Nate, but people will come around.  Afterall, they’re Americans” He smiled

“You can’t stand either candidate can you?” I asked

“No man, I’m McCain all the way,” he said whiping off the bar

“McCain?” I demanded “You said he was a closet Democrat, a traitor, and he was embarrassed by his black daughter.”

“Me?” He answered “Oh, that was the primaries.  Now, I can’t stand Obama.  If we elect Obama that’ll be the death of Israel.”

“You really think so?” I asked.

“Oh yeah he’s friends with the PLO and all these terrorists.  Israel will go up in flames.  The media won’t tell you that though,” he stated.

“He sure gets good press,” I agreed.

“Damn right, its cause the media is controlled by Jews,” he said, “Except for Fox.  At least they’re fair and balanced.”

“I don’t know about that,” I said.

“Oh yeah and you know he’s going to raise taxes,” he said pouring me another beer.

“Yeah, I’m not looking forward to that.  How much more do you think you’ll be paying?” I asked.

“Me…well the boss pays me under the table.  I don’t actually pay taxes, but I know they’ll go up,” he replied disgustedly.

“Those Democrats are deadly for the economy,” I nodded.

“He’s a muslim you know,” He said.

“Some people sure think so,” I answered.

“Barack isn’t an American name not like Tommy or Nate,” he said, “he’s got to be a Muslim.”

“Got any facts to back you up,” I asked.

“Facts?  Anybody can lie about fact.  I don’t trust him.  My gut says he’s a Muslim.  That’s why he wants to destroy Israel,” he said as he poured a beer for another customer.

“You really seem concerned about Israel,” I interjected.

“And the economy,” he said, “He’ll drive that down.”

“Isn’t it already down?” I asked.

“Yeah,” he said, “You know why?  You know who controls Wall Street?”

“Jews,” I said.

“Yeah Jews,” he spat, “McCain is our only chance to get this thing fixed.  You want change we can believe in not just change that destroys the country”

“You make a lot of sense Tommy,” I said, “McCain could really use you on the campaign.”

“That’d be great.  I still have my band.  It’d be great exposure,” he laughed.

I flipped Tommy a fiver and made my way out of the bar.  He’s just the salt of the Earth.  The kind of people who built this country and that we need to start listenning too.  They’re not confused with facts or reality.  They’ve got their gut and isn’t that what our country needs now more than ever.

Written by thatsrightnate

October 30, 2008 at 5:52 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So you both hate Jews… but are worried about Israel?
    Amazing.

    Edmund

    October 30, 2008 at 6:07 pm

  2. I have no problem with Jews. We need them to help bring about the second coming. I was simply restating what Tom the bartender said.

    thatsrightnate

    October 30, 2008 at 6:46 pm

  3. “They’re not confused with facts or reality. They’ve got their gut and isn’t that what our country needs now more than ever.”

    Wait, are you saying that people shouldn’t look to facts and reality? How can we be expected to make wise and informed decisions if we don’t?

    Dan

    October 30, 2008 at 6:56 pm

  4. Go with your gut Dan. That kind of elitism isn’t what makes this country great.

    thatsrightnate

    October 30, 2008 at 7:45 pm

  5. But my gut tells me to use my head 😦

    Dan

    October 30, 2008 at 10:05 pm

  6. That’s cause you’re thinking like a liberal elite. It’ll pass.

    thatsrightnate

    October 30, 2008 at 10:18 pm

  7. This dialogue has set a few things straight for me, that’s for sure. Thanks Nate and Tommy.

    beccy joe

    October 31, 2008 at 9:42 am

  8. […] a comment » Long time readers of this blog will remember Tom the Bartender from when the two of us discussed the election back in November.  Tom is what they call a […]

  9. […] a comment » Long time readers of this blog will remember Tom the Bartender from our discussion on politics and his views on Limbaugh and Obama.  I saw him as I was driving home from work, not at the bar, […]


Leave a Reply

