That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

That’s Right Nate Boycotting Salvation Army

with 4 comments

This isn’t the first time I’ve had problems with this group.  In the first place, what kind of army doesn’t arm themselves?  In the second place, they have absolutely no customer service.   Since Barrack Obama was elected President I have taken to carrying around some gold coins with me.  I don’t carry a lot–just enough to bribe my way out of the country in the event of a total monetary collapse.

Anyway, I know this just encourages them, but being filled with the Christmas spirit earlier this week I saw a Salvation Army bell ringer in the brutal Chicago winter and I dropped a quarter in the bucket.  I didn’t think anything of it at the time.  However, the next day on the news I see the Salvation Army bragging about their large annonymous donation—my Krugerand worth about $900.

I immediately called The Salvation Army to explain my terrible bad luck.  Unfortunately, they didn’t really seem to care.  They told me “if I was the donor” it was a lovely gesture.   “IF I WAS THE DONOR?” What the heck was that supposed to mean?  The worst thing is that this isn’t even the first time.  I had to call about a similiar problem last year and didn’t get any satisfaction then either.

For that reason, I am going to put the power of this blog behind me.  I am announcing that effective immediately, we are boycotting The Salvation Army until I get a check from them in the ammount of $899.75.  I hate doing this to a charity, but I think its pretty obvious that the gold coin was an accident and they should respect my wishes.

Written by thatsrightnate

December 18, 2008 at 5:33 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good luck with the boycott Nate. I should tell you that the Steve family is boycotting “Christmas gifts” that are nothing more than items that were never retrieved from self storage. Yes, our daughter Mary is a very good student, but a dictionary from 1977 is not a great gift from her only uncle. As for Tommy, what 14 year old boy wants VCR tapes for Christmas? Do they still make VCRs? We follow your wishes and never give Emily food. You need to follow ours and stop giving our children “recycled” gifts.

    steve

    December 18, 2008 at 6:22 pm

  2. Steve, look on the bright side: Nate is recycling stuff, and that’s a positive thing. And please do feed Emily.
    As for the Salvation Army, when I lived in the US (Detroit, from August 2007 to August 2008), we bought most of what we needed at the Salvation Army. The only winter coat I bought during that year was theirs, and it cost less than 9 dollars. It’s such a good jacket that I brought it to Brazil. But guess what? It’s too warm to use here… even in winter.

    Lola

    December 18, 2008 at 9:00 pm

  3. First, thank you for doing your part to even out our country’s trade imbalance Lola. With that said, I believe the stuff in the Salvation Army store is for poor people.

    thatsrightnate

    December 18, 2008 at 9:45 pm

  4. […] a comment » Friends and long time readers of this blog will remember my problems with customer service from the Salvation Army last year when they refused to issue me a refund  after I reached into my pocket to throw a quarter into a […]


Leave a Reply

