That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Blog 1, Salvation Army 0

with 8 comments

I know for a lot of you, I’m not only your first source of news and information, but I’m also something of a hero.  But, I bet you don’t know who my hero is.  It isn’t Ronald Reagan or Thomas Jefferson or even Bill O’Reilly–its you guys.  Why is that?  Because once again you have proven the power of this little tool of Democracy that I like to call http://www.thatsrightnate.com.

Last week, I wrote to explain about my troubles with the Salvation Army.  It seems that when I reached into my pocket for a quarter, I accidentally tossed in a Krugerrand worth over $900. When I called the Salvation Army I got no satisfaction. Not a big surprise there, but what that poor excuse for a military organization wasn’t counting on was the power of this blog to mold minds.

I was checking out the news today and it is full of stories about the effect of our little boycott. Reports are flooding in from Montana, Pennsylvania, Colorado, Michigan, and Ohio

Now I’m not stupid. I know I only have 150,000 readers to this blog and that’s not enough people to make a difference…by themselves, but with your strong word of mouth campaign you have made history. All it would have taken for the Salvation Army to avoid your wrath is to return my rightful property. Now try feeding the hungry or giving shelter to the homeless with that $900 or better yet maybe your army can invade a country that you didn’t piss off by stealing from me. The Salvation Army joins the films Dark Knight and Stop Loss as well as Alan Colmes and Magic Johnson in feeling your righteous wrath.

Written by thatsrightnate

December 23, 2008 at 10:41 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m happy your boycott to the Salvation Army is being successful. Yesterday I watched Jackie Brown again (I love Tarantino) and there’s a scene in which one guy buys another some good clothes so he could let go of the “Salvation Army vibe”. But I really can’t differentiate good clothes from Salvation Army clothes. They’re all clothes to me. And, since I bought my winter clothes while I was in the US in a Salvation Army store, I felt offended by the film. I was wondering if maybe you could include boycotting Jackie Brown in your list of 110 things you boycott (all very successful, but let’s face it – you’ll never repeat the feat you pulled off against The Dark Knight).
    Also, I don’t think you have 150,000 readers yet. Your stats point to 141,000. I’m so glad to be one of the 141,000, though! But I was thinking: is it possible that this 141,000 number refers to visits, hits, not number of people who come to your blog? No, no, that cannot be! Sorry for the dumb question.

    Lola

    December 24, 2008 at 6:59 am

  2. Yeah, I’m pretty sure that number is regular visitors. Consider Jackie Brown boycotted for its Salvation Army comment and indictment of the Bail Bonds Industry.

    thatsrightnate

    December 24, 2008 at 9:38 am

  3. Saw this post when googling for Krugerrands … Just Wondering — Why would you have a $900 coin mixed with regular change in your pocket? Our coin-based business has the bank count all the coin deposits so it’s possible that the SA couldn’t get your coin to you because it went to the bank with bulk change. Why be mad at a charity for something that’s your own fault for being careless?

    bayou

    January 16, 2009 at 11:00 pm

  4. You know Bayou, if this was the first time it happened, I would have let them off the hook. I also hate how they used it to get free publicity from my simple mistake anybody could have made.

    thatsrightnate

    January 17, 2009 at 8:53 am

  5. I too find it hard to believe that anyone would have a $900 coin mixed in with other coins in their pocket. So much stuff on the internet is sensational and not true. I’m in disbelief. Sorry!

    Ron

    January 27, 2009 at 2:25 pm

  6. Sure, that’s cause it didn’t happen to you..3 times.

    thatsrightnate

    January 27, 2009 at 7:31 pm

  7. […] tell you dear readers about the power of our boycotts.   We drove Dark Knight from the theaters, cut Salvation Army donations, made Alan Colmes leave Fox, and are in the middle of bringing the Iowa mustard industry to its […]

  8. The Salvation Army has been STEALING from Americans for years! It’s time to stop it. Do you know what happens with that red kettle money? see salvationarmykroccenterprotest.com or exposingthearmy.blogspot.com……Come on America! wakeup!!!

    exposing the army

    September 16, 2009 at 1:38 pm


Leave a Reply

