That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Abstinence Only Education is The Answer

with 15 comments

Liberal media has jumped on the Center for Diseas Control’s report that shows Mississippi has become the number one state in the union for teen pregnancy.  You see, it makes the liberals feel good about themselves to point out that with abstinence only education Missisippi’s teen pregnancy rate is 60 percent higher than the national average.  However instead of looking at the 6.8% of teen girls in Misissippi who were pregnant, why not look at the 93.2% of the state’s teens who weren’t.

The reason that Mississipi has such problems with abstinence only education is pretty obvious–its teacher’s unions.  Lazy teachers who are union protected do a half ass job of teaching abstinence because they know that every teen who gets pregnant is another student who will need teaching.  This is blatant conflict of interest.  If they really want somebody to make a case for abstinence bring religious leaders or even parent volunteers into a classroom.  Boys are hopeless at this age, but we can reach the girls.   I can tell you if you let me talk about sex for half an hour with a room full of high school girls they will choose to remain virgins for a very long time.

As I’ve mentioned before, I didn’t appreciate it at the time, but I was very lucky that I grew up in the 1980s when nobody had premarital sex.  Oh it wasn’t from lack of trying on the guys’ part, but the girls always said no.   I worry about my daughter growing up in this era where morals have gone to pot, but I know that I have instilled good values in her and I know that when she starts dating I will watch her like a hawk.

Written by thatsrightnate

January 7, 2009 at 9:11 pm

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There are many factors that are responsible for each states’ statistics. However, there was a trend throughout the country that suggests that the redder the state, the higher the teenage birthrate. Here’s the url for the pdf version of the CDC’s report: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/data/nvsr/nvsr57/nvsr57_07.pdf. Look at the stats on p. 7. The states with the highest teenage birthrates seem to be the most conservative (excluding a couple of states like Utah). The ones with the lowest birthrates are mostly liberal states, particularly in New England.

    I concede that 93.2% of Mississipi teenage females, many of whom were taught abstinence-only education, did not get pregnant. But New Hampshire, for instance, was successful 98.1% of the time. Shouldn’t we follow New Hampshire’s lead instead? Even if you believe Mississippi is doing a good job, New England’s states are doing an even better job.
    Furthermore, I think 6.8% is a bit high. That comes out to 1 birth per 14.6 female teens. In other words, an average class with a normal amount of students would have 1 or 2 students who will have given birth by age 19, not to mention the amount of non-pregnant sexually active students. (Obviously, there will be more sexually active students than pregnant ones. The percentage of virgins in Mississippi is nowhere near 90%.)

    Also, I’d like to point out that statistically speaking, plenty of people had premarital sex in the eighties. Look at p. 11 of the CDC report I mentioned earlier. It says: “The number of births to unmarried women nearly doubled during the 1980s and then the rate of increase slowed markedly from the mid-1990s to the early 2000s before the current increases began. The steep growth in the number of births during the 1980s and early 1990s was fueled mainly by the increase in the birth rate for unmarried women.”

    You and your friends may not have been sexually active, but the same is not necessarily true of plenty of other people.

    Lastly, I’d like to refer you to a finding released last week that showed that abstinence pledges do not reduce sexual activity, but do reduce the frequency of condom use (http://www.livescience.com/health/090101-virginity-pledges.html). There are also studies showing that absitenence-only education does not reduce sexual activity (http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/67979.php). And finally, here’s some data showing that nearly half of all Americans lose their virginity as teens, even if they were involved in an abstinence-only program (http://www.mathematica-mpr.com/publications/PDFs/impactabstinence.pdf).

    Brian

    January 8, 2009 at 1:17 am

  2. Wow, almost 7% of teen girls in Mississippi got pregnant? That’s very high. Of course, films like Juno tell us that teen pregnancy is actually a good thing, as Sarah Palin’s daughter can attest.
    Like you, Nate, I was a teen in the 80s. I studied at a Catholic American school in São Paulo, and at that time there was no sexual education whatsoever. So when I was in 9th grade I decided to participate in a Science Fair by showing all kinds of contraceptives. When the school found out what I was going to do, it forced me to also present the Vatican’s point of view and the natural methods they support. This was strange because the Pope had already condemned sex without the intent of reproduction even among married couples. But I did so, and I must say my stand was a great success. ALL the teens wanted to look at the material and ask questions, because there was no information about sex then. It’s very sad to see that, 25 years later, so little seems to have changed. Although now, of course, you have abstinence education…

    Lola

    January 8, 2009 at 5:01 am

  3. Brian and Lola thank you for your posts.

    1. I am pretty sure the reason there is less pregnancy in the blue states probably has to do with the availability of tax payer funded abortions.

    2. I can attest having lived through it that even though us guys were trying in the 80s, girls waited for marriage. All throughout high school and college you’d put the moves on a girl and you’d hear the same familiar reply, “I’m saving myself for marriage.” Sure people would talk big and tell stories, but I lived it, I know.

    thatsrightnate

    January 8, 2009 at 6:45 am

  4. 1. Abortions do reduce birthrates among teens, but they’re not funded by the government. The Hyde Amendment made that illegal.
    Also, as one of the links I provided earlier shows, those who are taught in abstinence-only programs are less likely to use condoms. Abortions and contraception both reduce the birthrate.

    2. Like I said before, you and the people you hung out with may have done a great job of avoiding sexual activity. I’m not denying that. The only thing I object to is your assertion that premarital sex in the south is a new phenomenon. The problem with this is simply that there were millions of teens in Mississippi who weren’t your acquaintances from school and you cannot possibly account for all these people via personal experience.
    Again, I’m not saying that this means every teen in Mississippi is or knows someone who is pregnant. That would be inaccurate via the “ecological inference fallacy”. I’m just saying that statistically speaking, your claim that “nobody had premarital sex” 20-30 years ago is absurd.

    Brian

    January 8, 2009 at 11:58 am

  5. 1. Many of the doctors who perform these abortions went to college and medical school on government funded scholarships

    2. See your problem is you’re believing all the people who said they had sex. Sure in high school I bragged about sex I didn’t have too. All my friends would make up these stories and even worse get their girlfriends to back up their ridiculous stories too. Unfortunately for me, my girlfriend lived in Canada so it really wasn’t an option. It isn’t like I wasn’t trying though.

    thatsrightnate

    January 8, 2009 at 4:20 pm

  6. Uh, Nate? For as long as I’ve known you, you have boasted of never having left the United States — not even to go to Alaska or Hawaii. So, my question is, how did you meet the Canadian girlfriend and did you ever see her in person?

    steve

    January 8, 2009 at 6:18 pm

  7. 1. Many people of all professions get higher education funds from the government, but that’s true of every state. If you go to any state school, whether it’s someplace like Stony Brook or Ole Miss, part of your education is funded by the state. But this funding applies exists in every state and is not limited to those who perform abortions. You can even get scholarships if you aren’t going into medicine.

    But the important thing to note is that abortion is legal in every state. Access to an abortion clinic probably influences the teen birthrate. Whether or not the abortion-performer got his education via a scholarship is irrelevant. What I thought you meant in your previous comment was that you believed the government paid directly for abortions, making them cheaper. However, I don’t get what educational scholarships have to do with the birthrate. Having people educated with public funds is by no means the same thing as “tax payer funded abortions”.

    2. There are plenty of anonymous surveys that researchers have taken that ask about people’s sexual behaviors. They are by no means 100% accurate. (Men always report more sex with women than women report with men.) However, there have always been a significant number of people who have said that they were sexually active. Some people may be lying, but the numbers were pretty high, so I have to believe that some people were truthful.

    But most important of all is the fact that many studies, including the one your blog entry discusses, are based on birthrates. Anyone can lie about their virginity. You can’t lie about having a baby, particularly since this information is counted based on birth certificates. I base my assertion that lots of people had premarital sex on the assumption that there are more teens having sex than the number of teens having children. (These people are getting pregnant via sex and it would be absurd to think that every sexual encounter leads to pregnancy.) The teen birthrate was lower in the ’80’s, but there were plenty of teens who gave birth back then.

    You seem to be saying that premarital sex wasn’t rampant based on your experiences. But you can only base that on what you have seen/heard from people that you know or who lived in your vicinity. Sure, there are plenty of liars and perhaps everybody at your high school lied about sex. Maybe there was not a single person in your city or your county that had premarital sex. But what about the people you hadn’t met? Does the belief that your classmates at your high school abstained suggest anything about the students at other high schools throughout the state or country? Of course not. That would be as ridiculous as it would be if I said, “I was in school in New York during the ’90’s. In the time I was in school, nobody that I know of said that they honestly liked country music. Therefore, nobody was a fan of country music in the ’90’s.”

    Brian

    January 8, 2009 at 6:38 pm

  8. Brian, it is very hard to do, but you have convinced me. It is not that premarital sex was not going on in the 80s, it simply wasn’t going on in Chicago. We weren’t listening to a lot of country music either. I accept that you are probably right about this. Actually, based on my college experiences we can probably safely expand this to the Illinois borders.

    Steve, she came up to visit a lot and she was smoking hot. Her timing was terrible though. I never was able to introduce her to my friends.

    thatsrightnate

    January 8, 2009 at 7:20 pm

  9. The way I see it, this issue is clearly illustrated in the picture accompanying this article. The women down south are hyper-sexual, as seen in the graphic portrayal of Daisy Mae chasing down Lil Abner. It’s not like he even has a chance. I think we can all agree that if a top heavy moonshine fueled hillbilly woman was chasing us, we’d give in. All that abstinence education goes out the window. In a perfect world, Nate’s view that abstinence education is the answer would be correct. Unfortunately, this wicked world is filled with moonshine fueled hillbilly women. We don’t stand a chance. Sorry Nate, for my own protection, I HAVE to use condoms.

    wrecksracer

    January 8, 2009 at 7:37 pm

  10. What was her name? What town was she from? I hope she was From the Protestant part of Canada. How did you meet? I’m sure all your readers would love to know about your first love! First love besides the Gipper, I mean.

    steve

    January 8, 2009 at 7:48 pm

  11. nate, was`your hot canadian gal a model?

    gina

    January 8, 2009 at 8:18 pm

  12. Yes Gina she was actually. Nothing big, but she did some wallet work and picture frame work.

    Steve, I’ll post details when I have more time.

    Wrecksracer – I do admit that the effect of moonshine complicates things.

    thatsrightnate

    January 8, 2009 at 8:42 pm

  13. Your sister says your high school girlfriend was French Canadian (a Papist) and that you said her name was “Imogene Nary.” Tell us more, Nate. Enquiring minds want to know. Perhaps you have a picture to share?

    steve

    January 9, 2009 at 4:13 pm

  14. You know, you’re right about girls in the 80s, Nate. Because I was a girl in teh 80s and I was all, “No, No, No!” when I was straight. Unfortunately, I wasn’t straight all that often, maybe before 9am most mornings, so definitely not then….

    Shannon

    January 9, 2009 at 9:09 pm

  15. Are you retarded? The reason why abstinence only education doesn’t work is because teens are going to have sex. There is no way people can stop it even if you did have a gym full of girls at least 40 percent of them will still have sex. The key is teaching about contraceptives to help them practice safe sex which is also proven to lower the rate of pregnancies. You want to blame the teachers? They’re the ones who know that abstinence only is crap. I seriously would like to see you get off your garbage truck and try to do what they do. If you want to teach your children so bad then do it youself instead of bitching on the internet.

    John

    May 17, 2011 at 8:12 am


Leave a Reply

