That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

How the Country Misunderestimated Bush

with 4 comments

Today, President Bush gave the press conference that I had been hoping he’d give for awhile now.  He put the facts on the table and simply and eloquently explained to the press, “Sometimes I didn’t like the stories you wrote or reported on – sometimes you misunderestimated me – but always I felt the relationship has been professional.”  I think the whole country has misunderestimated President Bush and history will view his legacy very differently than we do today.  We may look at Bush as an average or slightly above average now, but in a generation he will be remembered as one of the truly great ones.

Bush staunchly defended his economic record saying, “I inherited a recession, I’m ending on one.  In the meantime there were 52 of uninterrupted job growth.”   As one who lived through the soup lines and Clinton Towns of the Clinton Recession of the late 90s, I think America has far too short a memory.   Remember, this current recession was really caused by fear Obama would be elected anyway.  You can’t blame Bush for that.  People mistake the 1990s for a time of prosperity simply because unemployment was low, wages were growing, the stock market was booming, and people were able to afford things that they hadn’t been able to previously.  However, the truth is the very wealthy have had their income grow exponentially under Bush.  It is just a shame that we have a new President who will shake things up before it can trickle down to the rest of the country.

Bush was not afraid to tackle his disappointments as President such as the far too small “Mission Accomplished” banner that he was forced to address the country in front of in 2003 when a larger one couldn’t be found.  He also expressed his disappointment with Iraq, “Not having weapons of mass destruction was a huge disappointment. I do not know if you want to call it a mistake or not, but things didn’t go as planned.”  I think we all were saddened when we found out that Iraq didn’t have such weapons.  It left the news networks with a lot of dead air to fill.  WMDs would have made the battle of Iraq a lot more exciting.

Bush’s accomplishments are myriad.  As Jon Swift points out on his great blog that since 9/11 Bush has kept us free from terrorism, since Hurricane Katrina not a single American city has been destroyed, since Afghanistan and Iraq we have not been in anymore foreign quagmires, and after Abu Gharib Bush reaffirmed our opposition to torture. Bush has brought back good government to Washington by uniting the country after divisive elections and after the Valerie Plame scandal and the Department of Justice firings and various other scandals Bush restored integrity to the White House. These were no small accomplishments, but for some reason Bush gets no credit for it.

As he heads into retirement, Bush talked wistfully of his days as a drunk, ” I just cannot envision myself in a big straw hat and a Hawaiian shirt lying on some beach, particularly since I quit drinking… I’m not quite sure what to expect.” Well President Bush this Bud’s for you. You’ve certainly earned it.

Written by thatsrightnate

January 12, 2009 at 7:11 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bravo, Nate. You said what needed to be said and said it well. Have you ever thought of producing greeting cards?

    steve

    January 12, 2009 at 8:06 pm

  2. I’m ashamed when I think about how I misunderestimated Bush. Thanks to Nate, I realize that Bush will go down as one of the greats. Right up there with Millard Fillmore! Now I’m worried that Obama’s policies might keep me from being trickled on. I’ve been waiting for years. I demand to be trickled on!

    wrecksracer

    January 12, 2009 at 11:33 pm

  3. I definitely suggest writing to your congressmen and letting them know that.

    thatsrightnate

    January 13, 2009 at 6:37 am

  4. That was great, Nate. Well done, lots of fun.

    Lola

    January 13, 2009 at 3:38 pm


Leave a Reply

