That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Nate Predicts the Oscars

with 2 comments

Actor In a Leading Role

  • Richard Jenkins – The Visitor (movie about Illegal Immigration – Nope)
  • Sean Penn – Milk (Loses just for deceptive title which tricked me into going to see it – Nope)
  • Frank Langella – Frost/ Nixon (about time Nixon gets some respect)
  • Brad Pitt – The Curious Case of Benjamin Button (He ages backwards?  I aged watching this movie)
  • Mickey Rourke – The Wrestler (Can’t beat pro wrestling for excitement)

Winner: Frank Langella

Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Josh Brolin – Milk (Actually, just because he played Bush he gets support here)
  • Robert Downey – Tropic Thunder (Finally a war movie gets recognized)
  • Phillip Seymour Hoffman – Doubt (Papist)
  • Heath Ledger – The Dark Knight (Played the John McCain type in this liberal propaganda)
  • Michael Shannon – Revolutionary Road (He plays a guy in a mental institution.  The Academy always recognizes this)

Winner: Micahel Shannon

Actress in Leading Role

  • Anne Hathaway – Rachel Getting Married (I don’t like the pro-drug message of this film)
  • Angelina Jolie – Changeling (I don’t like the anti-police message of this film)
  • Melissa Leo – Frozen River (I don’t like the global warming message of this title)
  • Meryl Streep – Doubt (I don’t like the Papist message of this film)
  • Kate Winslet – The Reader (I hate reading almost as much as I hate Nazis)

Winner: Kate Winslet

Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Amy Adams – Doubt (Papist)
  • Penelope Cruz – Vickie Cristina Barcelona (Too foreign)
  • Viola Davis – Doubt (Papist)
  • Taraji P. Henson – Curious Case of Private Benjamin (Still don’t get this aging backwards thing)
  • Marisa Tomei – The Wrestler (Loved her in My Cousin Vinnie)

Winner: Marisa Tomei

Best Song

  • Down to Earth – Wall E (I’m assuming that a liberal propoganda movie like this probably got Randy Newman)
  • Jai Ho – Slumdog Millionare (What’s a Jai Ho?)
  • O Sava – Slumdog Millionare (Doesn’t anybody talk English anymore)

Winner: Ballad of the Green Berets

Best Picture

  • The Curious Case of Benjamin Bratt  (ZZZZZZ)
  • Frost/Nixon – (Finally a movie showing how Nixon stood up to David Frost’s tough questioning)
  • Milk – (I am not seeing another movie named after a beverage again without seeing the trailer first)
  • The Reader – (Who wants to see a movie about reading?  I go to the movies so I don’t have to read)
  • Slumdog Millionare – (A pro-capitalism movie shows that anybody can pull themselves up out of the slums)

Winner: Slumdog Millionare

Written by thatsrightnate

February 22, 2009 at 12:07 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. All those movies were pretty good, even Benjamin Button. But, after watching The Wrestler again, it’s one of my favorite films of this bunch. And I hate wrestling. I hope Slumdog Millionaire gets everything, because that’s what I guessed for my Oscar pool.

    Lola

    February 22, 2009 at 6:29 am

  2. Well I find myself at the 5th entry in my series of websites that are amazing yet do not have the web 2.0 aesthetic. I like many other designers have fallen to the addictive properties of http://www.thatsrightnate.com which has allowed me to find such an amazing set of sites and share them here with you.

    molle

    February 22, 2009 at 5:58 pm


Leave a Reply

