That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Jindal Response Hits a Home Run

with 3 comments

After years of sending jobs to India, America has got a new Indian import and that import is called hope.  First, came the blockbuster movie Slumdog Millionare in which a boy rises out of the slums without any government assistance.  Now comes the next Ronald Reagan Indian-American Bobby Jindal hitting a home run (or the  cricket equivalent–a 6) as he responds to Obama’s lackluster speech last night.

Now, I have to give credit where it is due.  I’m not the one who came up with the next Reagan comparison.  That came from no greater judge of talent than Rush Limbaugh who had this to say about Jindal’s oratorical skills “When I interviewed Bobby Jindal for the Limbaugh Letter a year and a half ago or so I immediately thought I was talking to the elected version of the next Ronald Reagan, the closest thing we’ve got to an elected version of the next Ronald Reagan in the United States today.”

What I admired most about Jindal’s speech was his pleasant demeanor which reminded me of days as a child watching Mr. Rogers change his clothes in front of me.  I also loved his stories and the way he defended Bush’s handling of Hurricane Katrina by explaining that the people of New Orleans didn’t want the federal government there.  They only got in the way of the sherrif who was going to rescue everybody.  If the government sticks its nose into the economic crisis, we’re only going to get in the way of all those mom and pop stores that could really rescue us.  As Jindal says, “there’s a lesson in this experience” and that lesson is that the only way out of this economic crisis is by following the same blue print we have over the past 8 years.   Why would we ever trust our government to get us out of this crisis when they have shown how incompetent they are over the past 8 years?  Only the Republicans seem to understand this.  Thank God there are people like Bobby Jindal to lead us into the future.  With performances like the one last night, you know he will take us far.

Written by thatsrightnate

February 25, 2009 at 6:49 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s amazing how many different people picked up on the Mr. Rogers theme. You were the first person I saw mention it, but it appeared in most reviews later on.

    zenyenta

    February 25, 2009 at 7:59 pm

  2. Ridic. You guys are so ideologically driven. Check out my blog. I’ll be sure to write a response to this.

    thelakattack

    February 25, 2009 at 8:29 pm

  3. That’s what I saw too.. I kept waiting for him to take off his jacket and put on his sweater, then sit down and put on his tennies…lol

    Of course I also heard Kenneth the Page…

    I have also heard the story about the sheriff wasn’t true.. not sure about that one but that’s what I have been hearing now.

    Thanks for visiting Nate.. come back again…I am always open for visitors…

    Annette, Missouri

    February 25, 2009 at 9:03 pm


Leave a Reply

