That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

The World Premiere of My New Rap Video

with 13 comments

As I mentioned last week, RNC Chairman Michael Steele has called on us to change as a party.  He wants us to “convey that the modern-day GOP looks like the conservative party that stands on principles. But we want to apply them to urban-surburban hip-hop settings.”  Well sir, I have taken this call to heart and while I am no MC Rove I was amazed at how easy this rapping is.   First off, sampling is amazing.  Republicans love using songs without permission and now I can do it legally.  Now, I’m the first to admit that I’m no MC Rove, but this rapping is really just talking.

For my regular blog readers, I know that some of you may be frightened of rap.  Don’t be.  We need to reach out to people in all communities who share our views and frankly most of you are too old to really get the vibe on the street.  Even my daughter Emily pleaded with me not to post this video which she called an embarrassment, but you see she doesn’t know the urban experience–in fact I’ve spent most of her life protecting her from it.  If you don’t get it, don’t worry.  I’m trying to reach out to young black men and anybody else who is part of that hip hop culture.  Please appreciate the video for what it is.

It occurs to me that there are a lot of things that unite us Republicans to rappers.  For one thing, we love our big cars and for another we’ve both been accused of mysoginy.  Now that I have this video on the YouTubes, my next goal is to get it on the Itunes.  I’m not going to be happy until I’m in my car and I hear somebody next to me cranking it so loud that the bass is shaking my car.  That will be success so crank this baby up while I lay some dope rhymes on you.

UPDATE: There is an issue with the video sometimes showing up as not available.  At first I thought it was the man trying to keep me down or Steven Tyler again, but it is just a glitch with the YouTubes.  If you get that message try again in a few seconds and you should get it.

Written by thatsrightnate

March 1, 2009 at 1:14 pm

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ok, you’re incredible and I’m stealing it. You really should be even more famous than you already are.

    zenyenta

    March 1, 2009 at 2:06 pm

  2. I appreciate the praise, but I really don’t know that that is possible.

    thatsrightnate

    March 1, 2009 at 2:07 pm

  3. I posted it to Facebook and stole it for my blog. Even though you’re on the wrong side of history you should be recognized for your talent. I don’t think we should rest until you’re invited on Fox News.

    zenyenta

    March 1, 2009 at 2:32 pm

  4. I can dream. Now that Jon Swift has been on Sliwa, I am hoping he’ll pave the way for the rest of us. Even he can’t drop a rhyme like me though. You’re becoming my press agent Zen 🙂

    thatsrightnate

    March 1, 2009 at 3:03 pm

  5. Oh, and I posted it to Democratic Underground, too. I figure we should all know what we’re up against.

    zenyenta

    March 1, 2009 at 3:03 pm

  6. Believe me when other Republicans see my video, this is going to spread like wildfire.

    thatsrightnate

    March 1, 2009 at 3:11 pm

  7. You really do have the dopiest rhymes, bro. For Realz.

    steve

    March 1, 2009 at 4:44 pm

  8. That’s actually supposed to be dopest Steve

    thatsrightnate

    March 1, 2009 at 7:28 pm

  9. Excellent video, Nate. I didn’t know you were a born rapper.

    Lola

    March 2, 2009 at 8:01 am

  10. Awwwww Hell Yeah! That was deffer and fresher than wonder bread! That was deffer that Def Leppard! Karl Rove? His rapping is stale in comparison. Yesterday’s news.

    Nate, it took me 10 or 15 tries to finally view this masterpiece. Wow! Was in worth it. The inner-city youth and gang members are going to be flocking to this new republican/rap format. The grooves are there.
    A new Die-Nasty is born!

    wrecksracer

    March 2, 2009 at 8:22 am

  11. I’m sorry for that Youtube glitch. It annoys me to no end, but I’m glad to have you two in my posse.

    thatsrightnate

    March 2, 2009 at 8:33 am

  12. “damn” you iz the shiz, apparently

    beccyjoe

    March 5, 2009 at 11:42 pm

  13. […] a GOP rap video Republican Delight at the urging of Michael […]


Leave a Reply

