That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Helping Megan McCain With Her Weight

with 7 comments

emily

Emily's shirt can't conceal her weight problem as she celebrates her birthday by devouring a chocolate cake.

This post is going out to Megan McCain or I guess maybe John McCain too.  Megan has been in the news lately because, to put it bluntly, she’s fat.  Recently, in a show of tough love Laura Ingram called her on it teasing “Ok, I was really hoping that I was going to get that role in the Real World, but then I realized that, well, they don’t like plus-sized models. They only like the women who look a certain way. And on this 50th anniversary of Barbie, I really have something to say.”

Megan immediately got defensive, ““It infuriates me,” she said. “I’m a political writer on a blog, and all of a sudden I’m too fat to write?”  She further went on to tell Laura Ingram, “Kiss my fat ass.”  Like Megan, I too am a political writer on a blog and like her father John I too have a fat daughter.  I know how defensive they can get when you suggest that they might want to order something a little less fattening at a restaurant.  Poor Laura Ingram seems to have been caught in the crossfire.  It is just a simple fact that fatties get defensive.

For John McCain it must be very tempting to love Megan like any other child in spite of her overwhelming girth.  The question though is at this time of her life is unconditional love really what Megan needs?   I tried that with my daughter Emily and what I got was a daughter weighing in at 125 pounds at the age of 12 and unlike Megan, Emily has no aspirations of a Hollywood career.  As Megan herself told The View, she has a younger sister.  Is she really setting a good example for her sister?

I especially feel sorry for John McCain who like me has always enjoyed a good fat joke or a political daughter joke.   Who can forget his zinger from the late 90s?  “Why is Chelsea Clinton so ugly? Because her father is Janet Reno.”  I hope that he’ll have some equally cutting material about the Obama daughters in the years to come.

The real tragedy here though is Megan McCain who by all accounts has a great personality and she does have a very pretty face if only she’d take off some pounds.  She could be that young Republican sex symbol for the 2o somethings the way that Sarah Palin is for the older generation.  Let’s hope she gets her act together.  As it is now who can take a woman seriously when she obviously needs to lose weight.  If she has any hopes of being the next Rush Limbaugh she’s going to have to look more like the women on Fox.   Why do they have credibility?  Because they’re hot.  Meow!

UPDATE – One tradition at the Peele house was always hiding Easter candy so that Emily wouldn’t eat it all.  I’ll have to be really careful if I win the See’s candy contest over at Soup is not Finger Food.

Written by thatsrightnate

March 16, 2009 at 8:00 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] douchebag just needs to punched where his fucking nuts would be if he was really a man.  If Meghan McCain […]

  2. You should write to John McCain and give him some suggestions, seeing as you’ve faced this tragedy in your own family.

    zenyenta

    March 17, 2009 at 5:22 am

  3. I’ve tried, but he’s stopped accepting mail from me.

    thatsrightnate

    March 17, 2009 at 5:25 am

  4. Does Megan hate her father too?

    Lola

    March 17, 2009 at 6:40 am

  5. Kids appreciate tough love Lola. I think my next book deal will be a book offering advice to fathers of overweight girls.

    thatsrightnate

    March 17, 2009 at 6:52 am

  6. Wooooooo go Megan McCain

    Dollface

    March 17, 2009 at 11:12 pm

  7. At least John McCain is standing strong. He refuses to repudiate Laura Ingram for her tough love.

    thatsrightnate

    March 18, 2009 at 5:40 am


Leave a Reply

