That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Saint Jing-Tao-Wow Day Video

with 20 comments

I’m really pushing this holiday folks.  I don’t know if my little blog has the gravitas needed to give this idea the push it needs, but over the next 12 days, I’m going to be pushing hard for Saint Jing-Tao-Wow Day wherever I can on the internet.  I think Lou Dobbs has inspired me  and I feel compelled to act.  Let’s spread the word.

Written by thatsrightnate

March 19, 2009 at 5:50 pm

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Is that your voice, Nate? Wow, I had never heard your voice before! A very nice, strong, even sexy voice. And I love how you can pronounce Jing-Tao-Wow correctly. You probably have a talent for learning foreign languages.

    Lola

    March 20, 2009 at 6:23 am

  2. I am stealing and linking…lol Also posting another place to see if I can help drum up some suport for you. I think it is a worthy cause.

    Annette, Missouri

    March 20, 2009 at 6:30 am

  3. Thanks Lola. You have a good ear for talent.

    Thanks Annette. I really appreciate it

    thatsrightnate

    March 20, 2009 at 7:20 am

  4. I think I might just make a facebook event for this to spread the Jing Tao Wow love over there. And how appropriate, too, since Jing Tao Wow would fit my ethnic heritage stereotype.

    Too bad you couldn’t splice Lou’s voice from http://mediamatters.org/countyfair/200903170028?f=cf_clips directly into your clip, but the patriotic music was great!

    Richard

    March 21, 2009 at 2:20 am

  5. Richard

    March 21, 2009 at 2:43 am

  6. Thanks for helping to spread the word Richard. I would have liked to splice in his own voice, but I am limited by my equipment at this point.

    thatsrightnate

    March 21, 2009 at 8:40 am

  7. saint jing-tao-wooooo! I don’t even know if americans have any fun stereotypes about australians. guess we’ve never posed a big enough threat… that’s too bad.

    beccyjoe

    March 21, 2009 at 10:39 am

  8. We really didn’t until a great man by the name of Paul Hogan came along. Now, we have plenty of them.

    thatsrightnate

    March 21, 2009 at 11:16 am

  9. well let’s see, beccyjoe, you aussies are all descended from criminals, you enjoy wrestling with alligators, your diet consists mostly of vegemite and roasted kangaroo – how am i doing? why don’t you have your pet koala put another shrimp on the barbie and enjoy another fosters while i try to think up a few more.

    nate, who’s paul hogan? 😉

    gina

    March 21, 2009 at 12:51 pm

  10. Now I’m curious: any stereotypes about Brazilians? Other than the fact that we speak Spanish?
    Beccyjoe, allow me to add one more stereotype about Australians: you compete with New Zealanders. That says a lot.

    Lola

    March 21, 2009 at 1:04 pm

  11. Paul Hogan was born in New South Wales and by all accounts had a pleasant enough upbringing. Oh sure, money was tight, but when Paul was old enough he got a job as a rigger on the world famous Sydney Harbor Bridge.

    You see, Paul loved adventure and it was that love of life, that wanderlust that led him to the greatest adventure of all–show business. He got his own sketch comedy show and in 1985 he was named Australian of the year and he made commercials that aired in both Great Britain and America.

    In 1986, it was Paul’s own friends who put up the money for his first feature film and it struck box office gold. The most successful Australian film of all time it landed Paul a Golden Globe award. In 1990 he married his costar, a lovely American with a less than Hollywood name. Her name is Linda Kozlowski, and he…well he’s known far and wide not as Paul Hogan, but by his stage name–a name he made famous in Australia all those many years ago. Today, you know him as Crocodile Dundee and now you know the rest of the story.

    thatsrightnate

    March 21, 2009 at 3:25 pm

  12. Lola–I’d say nudity, poverty, and soccer would be the big three.

    thatsrightnate

    March 21, 2009 at 3:27 pm

  13. lola, it’s my understanding that brazilians of both genders and all ages spend most of their days frolicking at the beach in thong bikinis – care to verify?

    oh, and your diet consists solely of bbq’ed meat.

    gina

    March 21, 2009 at 4:00 pm

  14. Gina it totally slipped my mind about how we are all of us born of convicts. Touche.

    (FYI: CROCODILES, not alligators)

    And Lola, we don’t so much as compete with the Kiwis as claim their successful musical acts as our own. and screw them over in sporting events (the only time we get to throw our weight around).

    beccyjoe

    March 21, 2009 at 5:45 pm

  15. You know it does occur to me that there are a lot of cool accents floating around in this blog and the one person who makes his actual voice heard is the one with the flat Chicago accent.

    thatsrightnate

    March 21, 2009 at 5:51 pm

  16. I’m already sorry I asked about Brazilian stereotypes…
    Gina, Nate, Brazil is a country of gigantic proportions – it’d be bigger than the US if you didn’t count Alaska, and really, who’s counting? -, so not all of the population lives on the coast, where people frolic at the beach in thong bikinis. Bbq’d meat is the diet of Brazilians only in the south. In other regions people eat mostly rice and beans.

    Where’s Steve? Are you blocking him, Nate? I’d like to know his impressions about Brazil, since he’s a teacher and all.

    Beccyjoe, I love Flight of the Conchords! Do you like it too?

    Lola

    March 21, 2009 at 6:43 pm

  17. Lola-We have great Brazilian steakhouses in this country, but they wouldn’t stay in business serving rice and beans. I swear I have nothing to do with Steve’s recent disappearance and I have an alibi.

    thatsrightnate

    March 21, 2009 at 7:11 pm

  18. Lola yes I heart FOTC. But have you seen Summer Heights High? Finest Aussie comedy. What funny things have come out of Brazil lately?

    Nate your blog is a veritable melting pot.

    beccyjoe

    March 21, 2009 at 9:11 pm

  19. beccyjoe, thanks for the reptile correction.

    lola, the usa is also a “country of gigantic proportions,” with well over 50% of the population considered to be overweight. fortunately, most obese americans are too inhibited by their excess poundage to wear thongs in public.

    gina

    March 22, 2009 at 2:11 pm

  20. Gina–I wish you could talk to Emily

    thatsrightnate

    March 22, 2009 at 4:15 pm


Leave a Reply

