That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

My Saint Jing-Tao-Wow Day Adventure

with 4 comments

Saint Jing-Tao-Wow Day was indeed a great day for the Irish

Saint Jing-Tao-Wow Day was indeed a great day for the Irish

What a great day I had this morning celebrating America’s newest holiday Saint Jing-Tao-Wow Day!  I hope you and yours had a joyous holiday as well.

9:00 Woke up and had 3 soft boiled eggs on white toast with orange juice for breakfast.  Went out in my pajamas to get the newspaper.

10:15 Arrived at work late and chewed out my employees for slacking.  Demanded that DuJuan an African-American employee play basketball against me at the local park.  I didn’t believe him when he told me he wasn’t very good.  We played for like 20 minutes of just awful basketball.  I let him know that I’d expect more from him next year.

11:30 Went to lunch.  I had a tuna melt and 3 martinis.  I had a lot of fun hitting on the waitress.

12:40  Arrived back at work and took a nap.  I told my employees that they were in charge and left promptly at 2PM

2:15  I listened to some light rock on the car radio as I drove around and watched other people celebrating the holiday.  I saw a white police officer had pulled over a black motorist and I honked at them both and gave them the thumbs up sign.

4:00 I arrived at my sister’s place.  It was a madhouse.  All the kids were running around acting super Catholic.  Somebody didn’t get the memo and decided a Saint must mean its yet another religious holiday.  I guess too many crazy kids running around and overly religious behavior is stereotypically Irish so maybe in their mixed up way, they celebrated the hobby.  Steve started prattling on about something or other with Easter so I was out of there by 4:30.

5:00 Dinner was tuna noodel caserole, but I used my mom’s recipe which has a special secret ingredient–you put crushed up potato chips on top and bake it with the chips right on there.  Of course when you eat alone you mostly just scrape off the top layer with the potato chips and put the rest into tupperware until you’re not really sure what it is anymore.

7:30  Cracked open a couple of microbrews and began to write this article.  I’m not really sure what this stuff is, but at $7 a bottle you know its good.

Written by thatsrightnate

March 31, 2009 at 7:09 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was getting kind of skeptical about this Saint Jing-Tao-Wow day….Everybody was acting like I was crazy. I began to doubt that there even was a Saint Jing-Tao-Wow. You can’t trust everything you read on the internet. That was until I saw the image of Saint Jing-Tao-Wow toasted onto the surface of my grilled cheese sandwich. It was like Saint Jing-Tao-Wow was talking directly to me! I was going to take a picture….but I was really hungry. I felt kind of bad afterwards, but in the end I thought that Saint Jing-Tao-Wow would want me to eat on his new holiday. I wonder if any of your readers have any similar Saint Jing-Tao-Wow sightings and/or miracles.

    wrecksracer

    March 31, 2009 at 7:29 pm

  2. I think getting Nate to visit our home was kind of a miracle. He celebrated his WASPhood by forgetting his checkbook so he could not pay me back the money he owes. The Steve family, nonetheless, enjoyed sharing our faith heritage (Catholicism is not a “hobby”) with Uncle Nate. However, I must clarify that 8 is not too many children — everyone of them is a gift of God. Throat blessing with taper candles is perfectly normal. And, Nate should have stayed for the fish fry. It was some mighty fine perch!

    steve

    March 31, 2009 at 7:49 pm

  3. Nate, your interview saved my holiday. Between looking after the cat and Mr. Yenta and the fact that I worked in the office in the other county today – lots more driving time, I didn’t really have the time I needed to do anything ethnic. I spent the work day with a Chinese colleague, my Irish-American boss and in the general vicinity of a social worker from El Salvador, a co-worker who is African-American and a newer employee who is from Nigeria. And no one did a damned thing that I could recognize as stereotypical all day. Everyone was busy and that’s the only excuse I can come up with. I hope this is a legal holiday by next year so we can have the day off and a parade.

    zenyenta

    March 31, 2009 at 8:55 pm

  4. That’d be a bit help. Although if there is a parade, expect me to complain about it tying up traffic and if it is a legal holiday expect me to complain about that too.

    thatsrightnate

    March 31, 2009 at 9:13 pm


Leave a Reply

