That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

America’s Preeminent Republican is Liberal Fool

with 14 comments

I think it was Zenyenta who remarked about me that I never broke character.  I thought that after 13 months of blogging the time was right to do so.  This blog is a fraud and a sham.  You see, I am not the conservative I claim to be and I not even named Nate.   My name is Joe and I am actually 40 and a teacher in Chicago.  I teach in a city school that is 95% Mexican students and definitely somewhere between impoverished and working class.  For most of my life I have been in the Republican camp, but a moderate Thomas Dewey type Republican.

In 20003, something changed.  I remember the war in Iraq was going miserably and the economy wasn’t doing so hot either.  George Bush gave a rare Press Conference that night and the topic was on the threat of gay marriage.  Now, I’m not gay myself and while I do have several gay friends this was not an issue that was terribly important to me, but it was an epiphany for me.  I saw the speech as an attempt to distract the Republican base from real problems and even though it was a gradual transformation, I believe that is the moment I left the Republican party.

It is said that nobody is more anti-smoking than an ex-smoker.  Well, I had that kind of attitude towards the right wing excesses of my former party and I attacked it with all the gusto of a jilted lover discussing his ex.  When I see Republican hypocrisy I will use this blog to point it out.  However, I also occassionally bash the Democrats.  In Chicago our mayor is completely focused on the Olympics to the detriment of everything else.  He is selling off every bit of revenue creation the city has which is going to really bite us in a couple of years and I have seen first hand his push to privatize education.   Obama is likewise mistaken on education in so many ways.  When Obama does something I don’t agree with, I will be going after him as well.

I have a little bit of a comedy background.  I was in the Second City Training Center at the same time as Tina Fey and a few other successful actors, but I never really had the hunger to pursue it with the zest that was necessary to make a fulltime career of it.  I also worked in television for awhile and for a decade I did my own public access television show.  This blog fills that comedy niche nicely for me.   Though I had Steve Colbert as one of my teachers at Second City, I have always tried to do something different than what he does.  In the beginning of this blog I was determined never to break character while Colbert frequently lets his audience in on the joke.  As I have done this for awhile, I have done some more preposterous things like the panic attack when Obama was elected that should make it obvious that I’m running a parody site.  Still, I probably take more joy from the person who takes this blog seriously than I do from somebody posting how funny they find it.

My original plan was to end the blog after the 2008 election, but I have enjoyed getting to know people like Wrecks, Lola, BeccyJo, Pat, Gina, and the blog regulars so I have decided to continue things indefinitely.

Aw who am I kidding?

APRIL FOOLS!!

Written by thatsrightnate

April 1, 2009 at 9:20 am

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nate that was priceless! Even though I knew for the start that it was a prank, I laughed hysterically at the thought of you ever having been a Democrat. Good one.

    steve

    April 1, 2009 at 12:17 pm

  2. Joe the Democrat! Next you’ll be claiming to be a half Puerto Rican Chinese. As soon as I read that your school was 95% illegals, I knew you were making it up.

    wrecksracer

    April 1, 2009 at 10:41 pm

  3. Ah I tried

    thatsrightnate

    April 2, 2009 at 5:35 am

  4. Oh, Nate, for you every single day is April Fool’s! Knowing that you maintained your blog because of me brought tears to my eyes. Now that will make Steve jealous!

    Lola

    April 2, 2009 at 5:49 am

  5. It was an April Fool’s Day joke Lola. It is an American tradition to play pranks on April 1st.

    thatsrightnate

    April 2, 2009 at 7:16 am

  6. I thought you were serious there at first. I don’t know…I have mixed feelings. I’d love it if there was one less conservative, but you’re not really hurting anything much. As long as you live in Chicago your vote doesn’t really count, and I’ve gotten used to you the way we are. Plus, reading your blog, etc, shows how tolerant and big tenty I am.

    zenyenta

    April 2, 2009 at 11:10 am

  7. P. S.

    I’m glad you’re hanging around, whoever the hell you are.

    zenyenta

    April 2, 2009 at 11:11 am

  8. See, Nate? That’s something we’ve got in common. In Brazil we also play pranks on April 1rst. It’s called “Dia da Mentira” (Lying Day).
    I don’t know if you are aware that Obama pointed to our president, Lula, and said about him: “This is the man! I love this guy! The most popular leader in the world”. Now, I’m sure Bush never treated us so kindly. And this was today, not yesterday, so it wasn’t a prank.

    Lola

    April 2, 2009 at 1:39 pm

  9. You’re leader is named Lula? You’re making that up.

    thatsrightnate

    April 2, 2009 at 2:36 pm

  10. Zen you’re very big tenty.

    thatsrightnate

    April 2, 2009 at 2:37 pm

  11. Yes, his name is Lula, which is Portuguese for squid. But didn’t your last president have a name that resembled a plant? Animals are more animate than vegetables.
    Lula is great, no wonder Obama loves him. Lula’s been president of Brazil for 6 years now (he was reelected). Hopefully in 2010 he can make his successor and we’ll have our first woman president (before you).
    Maybe Brazil won’t be the US’s “little brother” forever.

    Lola

    April 2, 2009 at 3:30 pm

  12. oh nate how you jest. (But I think I speak on behalf of all the ladies who love this blog when I say I’m glad you decided to keep going after the election.)

    beccyjoe

    April 3, 2009 at 8:34 am

  13. damn you nate!

    steve

    April 6, 2009 at 7:46 am

  14. You know what would have made your prank more believable Nate? If you had a big sister — who was as smart as she was beautiful and kind — and while you were growing up she tried to teach you about justice, liberty, equality, freedom, righteous Democratic-feminist principles, and baseball, and all your life you shunned her.

    steve

    April 6, 2009 at 8:27 am


Leave a Reply

