That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Author Pictures Matter

with 11 comments

dustjacket1Morning Edition – Author Photos

It is very unusual that I listen to New Pravda Radio (NPR), but today I had Morning Edition on and  they were talking about the importance of author photographs in selling books.   It made me think that I might be selling myself short on the whole dust jacket thing.   If I could get a ghost writer then with their words and my image I think we could have a huge hit on our hands.   Industry insiders are telling people that if they have an attractive looking author, they are more likely to get their book reviewed.  This seems to be a good time to mention that Lockdown: The Liberal Agenda to Bankrupt the Self-Storage Industry and Turn America into a Third World Country is still only $7.99.  It defintely sounds like the market for quality dust jackets may be dramatically increasing so this is definitely a good time to snap one of these babies up to cover up books by less attractive authors.   I think I’d look great over a copy of Studs Terkel’s Working for example.

Written by thatsrightnate

April 7, 2009 at 6:00 am

Posted in Book Deal, Writers

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Might be even better if you showed a little beefcake on the next one. Maybe you could even get on Oprah.

    zenyenta

    April 7, 2009 at 6:15 am

  2. Its funny you should mention it. The next book is going to be a heartpounding romance between a congressman and his 22 year old independently wealthy Conservative Evangelical secretary. I was toying with a Fabio type pose for the cover.

    thatsrightnate

    April 7, 2009 at 6:47 am

  3. Sounds like a barn burner. I wouldn’t think you’d want to go too over the top for the cover. Just enough to titillate the ladies and maybe Ann Coulter. You know, tasty but tasteful.

    zenyenta

    April 7, 2009 at 7:24 am

  4. I may have been too harsh earlier. You really are a handsome man. Do you have any interest in finding love with a former Miss Ohio who plays the flute and can both shoot and cook your dinner? If Ann Althouse can find love with one of her commentators, maybe Nate Peele can too.

    cecily

    April 7, 2009 at 7:37 am

  5. Aw Nate, your good looks are all that matter.. Just lose the tie, unbutton the shirt and loosen the collar, that will work in the mean time…lol Show off that chest a little.. don’t want to over expose yourself. You might incite a riot if you do.

    Annette

    April 7, 2009 at 7:54 am

  6. Hands off cookie. I found Nate first.

    cecily

    April 7, 2009 at 8:02 am

  7. I’m glad to see you have so many female fans out of Brazil, Nate! I’d really go for that Miss Ohio if I were you, now that Giselle Bundchen has been taken. But I’ll say it again: let go of that mustache! Mustaches are for Muslims only!

    Lola

    April 7, 2009 at 8:05 am

  8. Always nice to be getting attention from the ladies :). Lola, I think the mustache is my trademark.

    thatsrightnate

    April 7, 2009 at 12:07 pm

  9. Oh Cecily, I meant no harm… wasn’t trying to move in on your territory or anything.. just offering my suggestions to help out a friend. I have no designs on Nate at all. Not that he isn’t a great guy and quite good looking.. I am just not looking for a guy right now.. I am quite content with what I have, thank you very much.

    And, yes… got to keep the cookie duster…lol

    Annette

    April 7, 2009 at 12:55 pm

  10. It’s okay Annette. Now that I have seen Representative Kimble, I’m not sure Nate is the man for me after all. Miss California says Miss Fresno 2005 works in the district office for the representative. She’s going to try and set us up. Too bad for you Nate, you need to move faster in staking your claim. True love waits, but a purity ring can’t keep a girl warm at night.

    cecily

    April 7, 2009 at 7:18 pm

  11. Oh, come on, Cecily! I know Nate is slow and all, but please give him a chance! Don’t trade him for Representative Kimble. Is it because of Nate’s mustache?

    Lola

    April 8, 2009 at 6:38 am


Leave a Reply

