That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

At Easter, Let’s Look At What Unites Us

with 8 comments

lego-jesusEaster is an amazing time of year that is often neglected for Christmas.  We all celebrate the holiday in our own way, but it would be nice for everybody in this world regardless of religion or denomination to get together and remember what unifies us–that Jesus Christ died for our sins, that his appointing Peter to lead the church in no way made him Pope, and that we can all be saved if we come to Jesus and ask him to change our sexual orientation, political affiliation, or religions denomination.

The Swedish celebrated Easter this year, the way they celebrate everything–with Legos.   Their giant 6 foot tall statue of Jesus took the parishioners of a church in Vasteras, Sweden one and a half years to build and over 30,000 pieces.   It is quite impressive to look at, but I would like to remind them that if they used a good old fashioned American erector set, they could have made a Jesus that walked and would have probably been more inspirational.

Halfway around the world in Australia, artist Mitch Mitchell has used his sculpting talents not to honor Jesus as those Lego sculptors in Sweden had, but to mock Christianity by creating a statue of a naked woman on a cross.   Needless to say, God sent his only son to save us, not his only daughter.   I’m not saying that a woman couldn’t have done the job so please don’t email me hate mail, but if a woman was capable of saving the world as Jesus did,  God probably would have had a daughter too.   Anybody who has seen Mel Gibson’s wonderful movie on the life of Jesus, knows that he was brutalized at the end of that movie.  It is ridiculous to think that a smaller and frailer woman would have been able to stand up to that kind of punishment.

Regardless of your family’s religion I wish you and your family a wonderful holiday.  I’ve been a bit slow with my posting this week, but I hope to be up to a fuller schedule for next week.

Written by thatsrightnate

April 12, 2009 at 10:09 am

Posted in Easter, Jesus

Tagged with , , , , ,

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Happy Easter to you, too, Nate. We’re having a small secular Easter/Passover celebration here, or Eastover. No kids around so it doesn’t involve as much chocolate as I’d like.

    zenyenta

    April 12, 2009 at 11:01 am

  2. Nate, I was wondering if you could clear something up for me. If Jesus died and came back to life, does that make him a member of the living dead? I recently saw a movie where several dead bodies were “reborn” after being exposed to radioactive gas. Is this what happened to Jesus? I don’t know…most “living dead” have historically been untrustworthy. For example: Frankenstein, Dracula, Zombies. I’m interested in having my sins forgiven, but I would hate to have my live brain eaten.

    wrecksracer

    April 12, 2009 at 8:22 pm

  3. First, Jesus’ body was placed in a closed cave for a long time. It is hard to say what gasses or chemicals were in there. The point remains it is still a miracle. As for Jesus eating your brains I don’t see that happening. For one, I think that hole eating bodies is kind of a Catholic thing.

    thatsrightnate

    April 12, 2009 at 8:44 pm

  4. Yeah, I don’t mind a little wine and crackers, but when they start calling it flesh and blood…ewwww! I used to have to sing this song in Sunday School: “Are You Washed in the Blood of the Lamb”. What!!!??? If not for the whole getting my sins forgiven part, I would have to seriously rethink this whole thing.

    wrecksracer

    April 12, 2009 at 11:24 pm

  5. Frankenstein’s monster was just really misunderstood. The others, I’d have to concede, seemed to be commited to evildoing.

    Hmmm. I guess the drinking the blood thing would also be Catholic, huh, Nate?

    zenyenta

    April 13, 2009 at 7:20 am

  6. Interesting analogy about Jesus being part of the living dead, Wreck.
    I left a comment in another post talking about the huge chocolate eggs we have in Brazil. Here’s another photo:

    http://zerohora.clicrbs.com.br/zerohora/jsp/default.jsp?section=Economia&newsID=a2471874.xml

    At least when we eat chocolate eggs we’re not supposed to be eating anybody’s flesh and blood.

    Lola

    April 13, 2009 at 8:12 am

  7. Lola – I want one.

    Wrecks – I think I have a recording of Anthony Hopkins singing that

    thatsrightnate

    April 13, 2009 at 5:05 pm

  8. Nate, no chocolate eggs for you. Remember what the doctor said about your potential for diabetes. Have a nice salad instead. We missed you at Mass Easter Morning.

    steve

    April 13, 2009 at 5:18 pm


Leave a Reply

