That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Chicago Tea Party a Huge Success

with 7 comments

mancow_dToday, in Chicago we made it very clear that we won’t take  it anymore.   At noon today, half-dozens of people crowded into the plaza outside of the Kluzinski Federal Building to proudly proclaim our messages of protest.  I was there, but felt ridiculously out of place in my American Indian attire.  I just assumed that the dress code would be the same as the last one.  Fortunately, although it was cloudy, there was no rain and the weather was fine for Chicago in April.

We gathered to hear disc jockey Mancow (pictured) give an inspirational message.   As the keynote speaker he reminded us that “in the million man march, only 13 of them had jobs.”  He also didn’t sugar coat it for Obama, calling him a a “race-baiting community organizer” in the mold of “Jesse Jackson.”  I was a bit disappointed to see Mancow didn’t have Drew Peterson with him.  The two have been seen around town several times since Mancow first interviewed the suspected two time wife killer.  Even though the crowd was a bit small for a Mancow appearance he was excited and enthused to be there.  You could really feel the positive energy just below the rage, but what drew the average person there?   Fortunately, I was able to ask some of those who showed up to let Chairman Maobama what they thought of his stimulus.

I asked one guy carrying one of the Obama photoshopped into Hitler posters that were all the rage at the rally.  He looked at me a bit funny no doubt because of my attire.

“Hello sir.  Can I get your name?” I asked

“Nope,” he stated flatly, “the feds have spies everywhere.   Just call me a concerned citizen”

“Fair enough,” I replied, “Why are you here?”

“Obama’s a fascist,” he said.

“What makes you say that?” I asked.

“Cause he is,” he angrily retorted.

“So you think he wants to take away our rights?” I asked.

“Yeah, that’s what I said.   You watch.  He’s going to do away with gun ownership, private property, and elections,” he snapped.

“Well I’m glad you’re here to stand up to that,” I responded.

A man caught my eye next.  He was in his 60s and dressed like a continental soldier and he had small children with him who I assumed he rented for the occasion  holding up signs protesting the latest taxes.  I approached him and asked his name.

“My name is Ray Hogan,” He smiled.

“What brings you here?” I asked.

“I don’t want change?” he said.

“You don’t want change?” I asked

“No.  I want things back the way they used to be?”  He said.

“What do you think about taxes?” I asked

“Oh that doesn’t bother me really,” he said, “My wife takes care of that.”

“Oh OK,” I said, “I really appreciate your time.”

“You’re welcome,” he smiled, “I had nothing else to do.  I’m just watching my grand kids.”

I was off to find another person to interview when I saw a very attractive woman with long blonde hair in a gray pinstripe suit showing a lot of leg.   She was walking quickly, but I was determined to make a bee line.

“Hi,” I said

“How.” she laughed.  She continued walking, but slowed down.

“So why are you protesting?” I asked.

“Me, I’m just getting lunch.  I work in this building,” she retorted, “Is this a protest?”

“We’re having a tea party,” I responded.

“Oh I used to have those all the time when I was a girl,” she smiled.

Unfortunately, she then entered the Kluzinski Building and I had to cut the interview short, but we really seemed to have a chemistry.  I was thorougly impressed by what I saw. It was a magic day and though some of us were protesting taxes and others were protesting for gun rights or against minorities or because we wanted Chicago to secede from the country, I believe our voice was heard.  Whether you were the militia guy who told me he believes metal detectors are a threat to our rights or one of the many people I saw who wanted to go back to the gold standard, today we made history and they can’t take that away from us.

Written by thatsrightnate

April 15, 2009 at 7:31 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for the report, Nate. I actually did pass a teabagging event on the road, but it was on the other side of the highway and I had the appointment at the vet so couldn’t stop. I was really sorry not to be able to get into it and take some photos and stuff. Glad you’re out there being our eyes and ears.

    zenyenta

    April 15, 2009 at 8:38 pm

  2. I sure hope you didn’t disturb Mancow too much.. it looked like from that picture he was pretty busy…and I know he would hate to be interrupted.

    It certainly sounds as if you had a good turn out in the Windy City, about as good as every where else. With the lady trying to eat lunch and the grandfather and his kids.. that’s about the rate of all the others.

    I am anxious to hear your opinion on the Texas matter.. With Beck being so afraid of things he had to wear a protective vest, and then him and Ted Nugent bumping uglies on the stage.. it got a little weird at teh Alamo after Perry said they were going to pull out of the Union… I just wish they would and take Beck with them.. then he and Norris could run for office together.. of course Perry might get upset about that.

    Annette

    April 15, 2009 at 9:42 pm

  3. Mancow is a great American and nobody was better able to lead a mass teabagging.

    thatsrightnate

    April 16, 2009 at 5:33 am

  4. Wow, I’m actually feeling sorry for Obama right now. He’s only been in power for four months and there are already so many organized protests trying to overthrow him. He doesn’t have a chance against outspoken patriots like these. Give the man a chance, Nate.

    lola

    April 16, 2009 at 10:05 pm

  5. A wise man once said outspokenness in defense of patriotism is no vice.

    thatsrightnate

    April 17, 2009 at 5:42 am

  6. I laughed all the way through – great one, Nate! Thanks….

    Shannon

    April 17, 2009 at 7:30 pm

  7. […] Chicago Tea Party a Huge Success (www.thatsrightnate.com) […]


Leave a Reply

