That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Texas: We Can’t Hold’em

with 7 comments

I started to make a video montage that I hoped would convince Texas to stay in the union.  I had that catchy Against All Odds song by Phil Collins cued up and was all set to make the ultimate sappy video of the great times we’ve had together, but then it hit me like a ton of bricks.  When one partner keeps threatening to leave, it isn’t a healthy relationship. It is called emotional blackmail.  Even though it pains me to say it, perhaps it is time for the United States to secede from Texas.  This video captured my feelings at the moment.  It really isn’t the warm and sappy video I had intended, but maybe it is the video I needed to make.  What really hurts is the one person who would probably understand how I’m feeling is Dr. Phil and he’s a Texan.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well, we have to look at the brightest part of it.. we will be losing Tom Delay, Dick Armey, George Bush, Ron Paul, and Dr. Phil. I know I am forgetting several other politicians, well of course Dr. Phil isn’t really a pol.. then again he isn’t a real Dr. either.. lol but that’s what they call him.

    I am sure there are other great American’s we will be losing.. but maybe we can get them Visa’s so they can visit once in a while…

    Annette

    April 17, 2009 at 9:16 pm

  2. That was beautiful, Nate. I’m tearing up. Good-byes are so hard. Except when W got on that chopper. That was easy. I hope Kinky Friedman gets to be president of Texas someday.

    zenyenta

    April 18, 2009 at 10:25 am

  3. I forgot Kinky Friedman for my montage of Texas. Doh

    thatsrightnate

    April 18, 2009 at 11:21 am

  4. Perhaps you didn’t see my earlier questions. Your video, while touching, does not answer my questions. I am moving to Texas in July to further my studies of Creation Science. If Texas secedes, will I need a passport to get into the Lone Star Nation? What immunizations will be required? Where can I exchange my US currency for Texos? PLease help a faithful reader.

    george

    April 18, 2009 at 1:43 pm

  5. I have questions too Nate. The wife and I were going to load the kids in the Yukon and head to the Alamo this summer. Will Catholics be allowed in the new Texas nation? We did fare too well in the last Texas nation.

    steve

    April 18, 2009 at 3:03 pm

  6. It is unlikely that Texas will be able to secede by Summer. You should be perfectly safe.

    thatsrightnate

    April 19, 2009 at 8:20 pm

  7. Not gone by summer? What a pity!

    Frank

    April 28, 2009 at 4:01 pm


Leave a Reply

