That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Apology Over “Patriot” Comments

with 10 comments

I wish to apologize for yesterday’s article A Patriot Speaks About the Teabag Movement.  As it turns out, the “patriot” whose comments I posted was Timothy McVeigh who later blew up the the Federal Building in Oklahoma City.  This was a mistake on my part.  I trusted friends of mine who told me they found it on the web and that I might want to post it.  They never told me that it was what a domestic terrorist said, so naturally I believed it to be the sentiments of a true patriot.  As you know, there is no connection whatsoever between conservative politics and domestic terrorism.

I hope this in no way damages my credibility with you.   We’ve had this blog for over a year now and mistakes are bound to happen.  I never claimed to be perfect.  However, when I have made an error I have always apologized.  When I posted the details of the Keating Five scandal mistakenly believing it was Obama and Rezko I quickly made amends. Likewise, when I accidentally printed Nazi propaganda while rallying against poor people having children I admitted it.  I took full responsibility for my article that mistakenly claimed Obama had his own flag and demanded that Obama do the same.

In the event that I do make another mistake, you can be sure I’ll retract it.  I think that says more about my qualities as a journalist than any mistakes I make ever could.   I can assure you that all the other articles on my blog are mostly true.

Written by thatsrightnate

April 26, 2009 at 9:52 am

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gosh I knew it looked familiar.. just couldn’t remember where I read it before.. thanks for refreshing my memory…Now I remember reading it when they published his papers.

    I guess I will forgive you this other mistake.. I do know how it is.. we can’t all be perfect…lol

    Annette

    April 26, 2009 at 10:01 am

  2. Thanks Annette. You are a true patriot and very understanding

    thatsrightnate

    April 26, 2009 at 10:13 am

  3. As Annette says no one’s perfect and I guess it sounds like what passes for patriotism these days.

    Oh, and tag, you’re it, Nate, if you choose to play. Come by and see what your assignment, if you decide to accept it, is.

    zenyenta

    April 26, 2009 at 10:13 am

  4. I am so proud that I know you and that you are part of my family.

    mary

    April 26, 2009 at 10:28 am

  5. Love is never having to say you’re sorry, Nate.

    Lola

    April 27, 2009 at 6:23 am

  6. Aw, thanks for being so understanding everybody. I can’t believe I got dooped again.

    thatsrightnate

    April 27, 2009 at 7:13 am

  7. Hey, Bonehead. I know you think us teachers are worthless parasites, but if you had paid attention in school, you would know that “duped” is not spelled “dooped.”

    steve

    April 27, 2009 at 7:59 am

  8. And damned right that you should apologize, Liberal.

    We know by now that the Conservatives are never going to apologize, so I guess it’s up to liberals to do it.

    I remember Jim, in Kingsley Amis’ first book, “Lucky Jim” once remarking how often he found himself apologizing to people who should be apologizing to him.

    Green Eagle

    April 27, 2009 at 2:41 pm

  9. Jeez Nate! If you’re going to use an outlaw patriot quote, you should at least use somebody local like the Unabomber. At least he had a cool “evil villan” name.

    wrecksracer

    April 27, 2009 at 5:00 pm

  10. Green Eagle don’t you go spouting you fancy book reading and then call me a liberal. I will not put up with that on this site. This is America.

    Wrecks, it was a simple mistake like when Michelle Bachman absolutely took Joe McCarthy’s speech with her to congress.

    thatsrightnate

    April 27, 2009 at 5:10 pm


Leave a Reply

