That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

My Newest Screenplay – President Lightning

with 13 comments

PresidentlightningIt was good to have today off because it gave me a chance to get working on my newest novel.  It s a piece of historical fiction, which you can believe I have copyrighted.  I like it because it shows an American overcoming long odds, there’s international espionage, war, and sports–kind of like Victory.  In 1935, the Nazis worried about being embarrassed at the Berlin Olympics the next year kidnap Jesse Owens.   It looks like they will be unstoppable in track and field until a crippled President and a discredited ex-President from the other party team up to take it to Hitler.   He was born to lead, but he was taught to run.   They call him President Lightning.   Here’s an excerpt.

[INT – THE OVAL OFFICE]

FDR is in his power blue track suit sitting behind his desk in the Oval Office.   He is smoking a cigarette and he looks sullen.   Herbert Hoover is standing in front of the desk in a brown suit.  He holds a clipboard and a stop watch.   Beads of perspiration run down Roosevelt’s forehead and sweat stains mar the otherwise pristine look of Roosevelt’s track suit.  There is an uncomfortably long pause as Hoover looks like he is about to say something, but thinks better of it.

FDR: [Flicking a cigarette ash] This is insane Herbert. I’m barely out of my wheelchair.  I can’t win a race.  Somebody else will have to run.

HOOVER: Dammit Franklin! Why can’t you pick yourself up by your own boot straps.   That’s what Theodore would have done.

FDR: Damn you Hoover! I’m not him.   The other Roosevelt had two good legs.  All I’ve got is a big social program which has prolonged the Great Depression and a very unattractive wife who is even more liberal than I am.

HOOVER: If you think that’s all you’ve got Franklin, then you’ve lost already.

FDR: What do you know about it anyway?  You’re not even a real track coach.

HOOVER: [Snatches the cigarette out of FDR’s mouth] Spit that thing out.   Those Germans are fast and I’m not training you so I can look foolish!  Look, I may not be a real track coach, but I am a real American and what I know is that an American is never licked as long is he’s got a breath in his body and a fight in his heart.   You think you’ve got it tough Mr. President, well I’ve got news for you.   Thanks to all your big government spending a whole lot of people have it tougher than you do.   If I hadn’t organized all those Hoover-villes they wouldn’t have anywhere to go.   You think you’ve got it tough?  Try raising a family of 8 when you’re factory just closed down.

FDR: [Angrily] I’m trying to everything I can.

HOOVER: Trying isn’t good enough Mister President.   What are you going to do?

FDR: I don’t know

HOOVER: I said what are you going to do?

FDR [Getting out of wheel chair] I’m going to run Hitler’s socks off.

WHITE HOUSE MAID: [She is a rather rotund black woman who has been secretly listenning in on the two men’s conversation] Lordy Mister President, I had hoped you’d say that.   I don’t like that Mister Hitler none anyway.   You go run circles around them Nazis.   Jesse Owens was running for my people Mister President, the way I figure it you’re running for all of us too now.

FDR: I intend to Dorothy.   Now why don’t you fix me some of them biscuits you make.   All this training’s going to make me mighty hungry

[Here we have a training montage as FDR goes from being unsteady on his feet to being a world class athelete thanks to his hard work.   Show Hoover looking displeased at first, but gradually lightening up as FDR improves.   This montage not only shows FDR’s ability improving, but a bond developing between the two men.   This montage is an excellent spot for an uplifting rock song.]

Written by thatsrightnate

May 25, 2009 at 2:17 pm

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well, that is quite the fictional historical fiction. Good luck with the novel and do let us know when you get a publisher.

    zenyenta

    May 25, 2009 at 9:04 pm

  2. The problem is that I’m definitely seeing it more as a screen play. Of course it will have a subtle message too when FDR learns the value of self-reliance and gives up big government.

    thatsrightnate

    May 25, 2009 at 9:16 pm

  3. I hope your beautiful screenplay can be picked up by Hollywood. I can see it already as a mix between Schindler’s List and Chariots of Fire. Plus a little touch of Triumph of the Will.
    Since we’re talking about Hitler, there’s a small Nazi blog here in Brazil, and what it wrote today is that “the world already misses George Bush” (because Bush would have nuked North Korea by now, apparently). It also predicts that Obama will not finish his term. I’d like to hear your expert opinion on those matters.

    Lola

    May 26, 2009 at 9:07 am

  4. Hmm, look for that this week

    thatsrightnate

    May 27, 2009 at 9:27 pm

  5. I’m glad to see you get back to what you do best: writing that hard-hitting, dramatic, “f you” dialogue that comes so naturally. It’s so real I got shivers when FDR stands up and announces he is going to run Hitler’s socks off.

    Do you have ideas for who would play the leads? I suspect Damon and Affleck might have matured into the kinds of actors who could handle such roles as FDR and Hoover…

    beccy joe

    June 1, 2009 at 2:09 pm

  6. I see Hoover as the real star of the movie–maybe Brad Pitt and for FDR I was thinking Paul Giamanti.

    thatsrightnate

    June 2, 2009 at 8:15 am

  7. BTW–I love the new avatar

    thatsrightnate

    June 2, 2009 at 8:15 am

  8. Paul Giamatti – that’s an interesting choice. He certainly showed us what he was made of in Sideways.

    Nothing says “me” like my new avatar.

    beccy joe

    June 2, 2009 at 1:57 pm

  9. Have, you found your digity yet?

    thatsrightnate

    June 2, 2009 at 7:41 pm

  10. Perhaps it’s right there in my new avatar…

    beccy joe

    June 2, 2009 at 10:53 pm

  11. […] is the unofficial start of the NFL season.   While the fighting began in 1939, the evidence of Hitler’s mounting terror began earlier and just as today patriotic truth tellers were at political meetings in Germany undoubtedly […]

  12. […] though long time readers know I’m no fan of the printed word, I’ve been trying to sell my screenplay President Lightning. Unfortunately, Hollywood is so liberal, I’ve hit a brick wall.  If any of you are movie […]

  13. I happen to be writing to make you be aware of what a exceptional experience our princess obtained going through your web page. She mastered a wide variety of things, which included how it is like to have an awesome coaching heart to make the others smoothly fully grasp chosen advanced issues. You actually did more than our own expected results. Many thanks for offering such essential, trustworthy, edifying and as well as cool tips about this topic to Ethel.

    plac zabaw

    November 12, 2011 at 11:15 pm


Leave a Reply

