That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Senator Ensign’s Affair is Understandable

with 10 comments

str2

John Ensign, David Vitter, and myself relaxing after a long day of work

[I was very lucky to receive an email today from Congressman Jack Kimble (R-CA) who wished to write a guest column in my blog about the situation with Nevada Senator John Ensign.   I was happy to oblige.  If you haven’t been paying attention, today Ensign admitted to an affair with one of his staff.   Her husband also worked for Ensign and when he tried to blackmail him, Ensign went public with the affair.]

John Ensign has been a giant of the Senate.   He has always stood for family values and conservative principles.  When Clinton put this country through the shame of Monica-gate, Ensign was one of the loudest voices for impeachment calling it “an embarrassing moment for the country” and stating the Clinton had no credibility left.  In more recent years he came out forcefully against gay marriage saying, “I believe that marriage should be defined as that between one man and one woman. You want to do what is ideal for children and all of the studies show that the ideal for children is to be in a household with a father and a mother.”

In short, John is exactly the kind of guy that we want in the Senate.  He’s a family man and he obviously has a strong sense of morals.  Unfortunately, the pressures that a congressman faces are huge.  It begins when we’re freshmen, you see all these attractive young women who want jobs as staffers and they’re on you the moment you step off the plane–tossing you their keys or underwear and asking you if you have a place to stay or giving you a ride to the capitol.   Let’s face it, in Washington DC we are the rock stars.

Then there are the parties.   I remember after drinking hard all night at Dennis Hastert’s,  they locked myself and Judy Biggert in a closet for 10 minutes.   Judy and I managed to keep our clothes on, but we still made sure to give them a good show when they finally opened the door.  That kind of stuff was happening all the time.  I still remember when Paul Ryan showed John and I the Double Kissinger–Wow!  My wife Margaret wouldn’t even let me do that in our bedroom.

Anyway, if we’re the rock stars in Washington DC, as a representative I’m like one of the Temptations.  As a senator John Ensign is like Huey Lewis.   If you stay in Washington long enough its going to make it tough to avoid temptation.    I hope the American people realize that the way to judge a congressman’s morals is through his speeches and the positions he takes on the issues and not what he does in his private life.   John you’re a good buddy and I know you’ll pull through this OK.

Written by thatsrightnate

June 16, 2009 at 6:32 pm

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. For the Republican Party, a heterosexual affair can definitely be seen as a positive. It’s a masculine statement that makes less savory scandals from the past seem like ancient history. Bravo Senator Ensign!

    wrecksracer

    June 16, 2009 at 10:40 pm

  2. Hey, Representative Jack,

    Call Me!

    419-Mis-Ohio

    cecily

    June 17, 2009 at 4:30 am

  3. […] Can someone please explain this to me? Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Senator Ensign’s Affair is UnderstandableMoral majoritySenator John Ensign & the Best DC Sex ScandalsSenator Ensign Admits to Extramarital Affair […]

  4. Yuck! All those attractive young women throwing themselves at respectable family men! It’s all the women’s fault!
    Miss Ohio, give it a rest! Let these loyal men run the country in peace!

    Lola

    June 17, 2009 at 12:55 pm

  5. Your just jealous that they don’t have Miss America in your country. How did your little test-thingy go?

    cecily

    June 17, 2009 at 1:01 pm

  6. Oh, you mean my PhD defense? It’s on Friday! This Friday afternoon think of me. I’m not prepared, honestly. I feel my mind is a blank. I know I’ll pass, because my advisor is really competent and everybody respects him, so failing me would be a great insult to him. But I just hope the committee doesn’t slaughter me. I’d rather be participating in a beauty pageant.

    Lola

    June 17, 2009 at 3:30 pm

  7. I will be wishing you luck on your testie thingie. Pageant contestants are taught from a young age to handle stressful situations like that. Look how well my friend did in her pressure-packed moment. She was from the South too. People expect more of southern pageant queens than they do of phds. You’ll be fine (and I’ll have Nate)

    cecily

    June 17, 2009 at 4:47 pm

  8. Right on Wrecks!

    Good luck Lola!!

    thatsrightnate

    June 17, 2009 at 6:57 pm

  9. The Sen. Ensign story is front page above the fold two days in a row, while the more egregious adultery of Rep. Loretta Sanchez is completely ignored by the congressional media? Could it be that she is a Democrat? Extra, extra, read all about it–
    http://latinopoliticsblog.com/2009/06/02/the-making-of-the-%E2%80%9Cloretta-sanchez-scandal%E2%80%9D/
    http://orangejuiceblog.com/2009/06/is-congresswoman-loretta-sanchez-having-an-affair-with-a-married-defense-lobbyist/

    CalState

    June 19, 2009 at 4:05 am

  10. Nice catch Cal. Do you know if the Democrats were paying off his children the way that the RNSC was paying off Ensign’s mistress’s son? Probably not, Dems are cheap when its not their own money.

    thatsrightnate

    June 19, 2009 at 8:05 am


Leave a Reply

