That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Lessons on Iran the Obama Could Have Learned from My Father

leave a comment »

Today, Obama got a bit more forceful about Iran saying, “We call on the Iranian government to stop all violent and unjust actions against its own people.”  Unfortunately, he uses large words and by the time it gets translated into Farsi, it’s going to read as having the same impact as telling a waiter that you ordered your steak medium and he gave you medium.  The key to being forceful is to to call Iran evil.   For 8 years it worked quite well for George Bush and that’s why Republicans like myself are so disappointed to see Obama do away with the Bush strategy.

The key to being successful when dealing with Iran is to use strong language–exactly what Obama is avoiding.   Another technique is to threaten.   Obama refuses to do this because he doesn’t reallize that you don’t actually have to carry through on a threat for it to be effective.  Tell Iran that if another protester is so much as touched, we will be dropping a nuclear bomb in the center of Tehran.  We don’t actually need to do this, but that kind of rhetoric will get the Iranians to quickly cave.   Threaten them that we will send a massive army to conquer the country.  It doesn’t matter that we don’t have troops to spare.

I learned these lessons from my father.   One of the best parts of growing up was when my sister and I would get in trouble.   My dad would always tell us he was going to kick us out of the house or that he wouldn’t let mom give us food anymore.   The threats would get larger and larger and so totally preposterous that even at 7 I didn’t believe them.  I knew the odds of putting all my toys on a rocket ship and shooting them off into space was well beyond my father’s capabilities.  Still, the threats were great.   Eventually my sister and I would look forward into getting into trouble just so we could hear what threat my dad came up with next.   We used to love telling our friends about them.   This is exactly the approach that we Republicans want Obama to take with Iran.  Let’s make this a Happy Father’s Day in Iran by letting some good threats fly.

Written by thatsrightnate

June 21, 2009 at 8:26 pm

Leave a Reply

