That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

I’m Back…And I’m Angry

with 41 comments

As usual, the convention was amazing.

I just returned from what should have been one of the greatest week’s of my life.   Very few people are lucky enough to attend the Great Lakes Regional Public Storage Expo and Convention, which in my mind is the Super Bowl of self-storage conventions.   They are doing amazing things with corrugated cardboard and I don’t mind telling you that within 5 years, it will revolutionize the way we pack things.  My song parody “The Locks I Love” (sung to The Look of Love) was a huge hit and even bigger than last year’s Baby Got Box.  I did quite well at self-storage pictionary too.  The father of modern storage facility management Martin Loviglio not only talked with me, but recognized me.   I even got to see the United States beat Brazil 2-0 in some soccer tournament at the hotel bar between conferences.

Then I came back.  I discovered that my good name had been run through the dirt at a variety of websites simply because I dared to use my first amendment rights to question whether Obama had murdered South Carolina Governor Mark Sanford.   Well my friends, I’m rested, invigorated and ready to take on such liberal bastions as Intershame , Wordsmoker, and Balloon-Juice as well as a myriad of forums and message boards.   Look, I’ll be the first to admit that I was probably wrong about Obama murdering Sanford, but as I’ve said before, politicians have a responsibility to avoid not just impropriety, but the appearance of impropriety.  Obama deserves just as much of the blame as I do because it was his behavior that enabled me to mistakenly accuse him of murder.  Obama may not have murdered the governor of South Carolina, but there are 49 other states and for their sakes, we need to remain ever vigilant.

Written by thatsrightnate

June 30, 2009 at 8:41 am

41 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You are a hoot! I sense perhaps some adhesive-huffing after the break-out meetings at the seminar?

    Big Leggedwoman

    June 30, 2009 at 1:55 pm

  2. As soon as you left, the vultures started circling with their accusations and innuendo. How were you supposed to know that Sanford was having a little good time hijinx….making the Republican Party the envy of all other parties? The man scores internationally….can liberals say the same? He has a wife AND a soul mate! We should all aspire to be more like him.

    wrecksracer

    June 30, 2009 at 6:04 pm

  3. This was a most amusing post. I’m sorry about the muckracking you’re experiencing, but it’ll blow over, I’m sure.

    I’m going to head over to those blogs and defend your rights in the comment section!

    Dollface

    June 30, 2009 at 6:29 pm

  4. Bigleggedwoman – We would never do such a thing. The GLRPSEC is sacred.

    The accusations that Sanford has faced reminds me very much of the attacks I suffered when I was in college and dating a Canadian super model who lived in Canada. I believe the vultures waited until I left because they knew I would make mincemeat out of them. Thanks for coming to my aid Dollface 🙂

    thatsrightnate

    June 30, 2009 at 8:44 pm

  5. What about me Nate? I came to your defense too. She might have a doll face, but I am a former Miss Ohio.

    cecily

    June 30, 2009 at 8:58 pm

  6. I always find it puzzling when people mention the First Amendment as some sort of defense when they write something as stupid as what you wrote. It should be obvious that the First Amendment does not protect you from criticism. In fact others have an equal First Amendment write to criticize you for what you wrote and so-on. Nobody is abridging your speech.

    Paulo

    June 30, 2009 at 10:44 pm

  7. “I’ll be the first to admit that I was probably wrong about Obama murdering Sanford, but as I’ve said before, politicians have a responsibility to avoid not just impropriety, but the appearance of impropriety. Obama deserves just as much of the blame as I do because it was his behavior that enabled me to mistakenly accuse him of murder. Obama may not have murdered the governor of South Carolina, but there are 49 other states and for their sakes, we need to remain ever vigilant.”–Nate

    You were “probably wrong”? Is Sanford “probably alive”? This does not look like an itellectual exercise in probability. You were wrong. Own it. My God.

    I love how you find it so difficult to admit how stupid your writing was. You even go so far as to blame your own stupidity on Obama. You are a real piece of work.

    Paulo

    June 30, 2009 at 11:11 pm

  8. Nate, it sounds like you made Paula so upset that she posted several times. Maybe you should send her flowers.

    wrecksracer

    July 1, 2009 at 7:08 am

  9. Wrecksracer,

    So posting twice above means I am “upset”? By that measure you must be “upset” as well. Lol.

    Besides, what does it matter if I am upset or not? Do you think that helps poor old Nate out? Nate admits in his title he is “angry”. Funny how you pathetically try to minimize my comments by minimizing Nate’s at the same time. You are too clever by half.

    Paulo

    July 1, 2009 at 8:10 am

  10. Why doesn’t anyone ever comment on my comments. I am a former Miss Ohio.

    cecily

    July 1, 2009 at 8:28 am

  11. I hate it when I’m too clever by half! Did I minimize your comments? All I said was Nate should send you flowers. Pathetic? Ok Nate, don’t send Paula any flowers. She’s too upset.

    wrecksracer

    July 1, 2009 at 9:28 am

  12. Where do you get off minimizing my comments Wrecks? Sorry Paula and Cecily. I’ll try and be more of a gentleman in the future. I say I’m probably wrong because Obama may have made a deal with Sanford to let him live in exchange for making up the story of the Argentinian mistress. I have no proof, but this whole thing seems a bit fishy.

    thatsrightnate

    July 1, 2009 at 9:35 am

  13. Nate, I always appreciate flowers and a gentleman. However, I think you and wrecks both need to stop and reread the earlier messages. IT’s not PAULA, it’s PAULO. He’s a dude. Me and that dollface loser are the only girls on this thread.

    cecily

    July 1, 2009 at 9:55 am

  14. Nate,

    That’s interesting. Believing in things without proof (or even evidence for that matter) is a religious practice – not a rational one. It explains a lot about your argumentative style. When you do not need proof (or evidence) to support your views, you can literally argue anything is true or not true.

    I am having a great time reading your articles BTW and commenting. Your article reviewing Star Trek was very good. I have not laughed so hard in a long time. I do not agree with much of it, but it is always nice to read a point of view that is definitely unique.

    Paulo

    July 1, 2009 at 10:12 am

  15. I apologize to everybody on this message board for my rude demeanor, especially Paula. It takes somebody of great intelligence and beauty like Cecily to make me realize the error of my ways.

    wrecksracer

    July 1, 2009 at 10:13 am

  16. Aww, you’re sweet. Are you single?

    cecily

    July 1, 2009 at 1:29 pm

  17. Paulo, believing things without proof is what has made our country great. It is what brought the first Pilgrims to this country in search of a better life and religious freedom back in 1492. In modern times, it helped us to overthrow a dictator in the Middle East.

    thatsrightnate

    July 1, 2009 at 2:20 pm

  18. Help me Nate, Like the Governor, I want to die knowing I met my soul mate. Can I have wreck’s email. I am, afterall, American royalty having previously been Miss Ohio.

    cecily

    July 1, 2009 at 2:29 pm

  19. Nate,

    You are misusing the word “proof”. Before you can have proof, you need evidence. You don’t even have evidence to support your statements about Obama.

    As for the Pilgrims, I do not see your point. England kicked them out. They were just looking for a home. It was pretty well established that America existed at that time (and it was not 1492 btw I think you are a little mixed up there).

    Secondly, the 2nd Gulf War was fought over a false argument. The Bush Administration pretended like they had proof and many believed it was true.

    What you are doing is something different. You do not even pretend to use evidence or proof to support your arguments. At least the Bush Administration went through the motions – a sham though it was. You don’t even do that.

    The danger in that is that it can lead you into an extreme/fringe/dangerous point of view where any irrational belief can take refuge. It appears I am pointing this out too late to do any good.

    As a person who values reason myself, I find it frightening that someone would advocate “…believing things without proof…” or (as I have pointed out more accurately -) evidence. It is unimaginable to me how many attrocities have been committed by people who felt the same way as you argue.

    Stalin did not need any evidence or proof to send millions to their deaths or the icy gulags.

    Jonestown victims did not demand any evidence or proof that life would be better in Guyana or that Jones was indeed their savior.

    Belief without evidence makes you gullible and succeptible to believe your own prejudices instead of your own observations.

    Paulo

    July 1, 2009 at 5:20 pm

  20. Okay. I get it. I was fooled. I think your satire was too good. The joke was on me. Lol.

    Paulo

    July 1, 2009 at 6:05 pm

  21. Oooh, Paulo. I love a man who can admit his slip-ups. Are you single? I am a former Miss Ohio.

    cecily

    July 1, 2009 at 6:13 pm

  22. Cecily, I was just about to give you my email address, and here you are flirting with another man right in front of me. What’s left of my heart is now broken.

    wrecksracer

    July 1, 2009 at 8:07 pm

  23. Hey cecily, I’m a current Miss Pluto. It may not be a planet anymore, but that still counts for something, right?

    Dollface

    July 1, 2009 at 8:48 pm

  24. Wrecks — you took too long. Royalty are not used to waiting.

    Miss Pluto — Suck on it space creature. the men on this blog prefer Earth Girls@

    cecily

    July 2, 2009 at 3:23 am

  25. Miss Pluto, you say!?!?!? That’s so much more exotic than Ohio….given that Ohio is just a suburb of Detroit. Anyone can be Miss State Fair champion or Trailer Queen for a day in Ohio. The standards just aren’t very high.

    wrecksracer

    July 2, 2009 at 8:26 am

  26. Nate, I demand that wrecks be banned from this site. He is boorish. Mark Sanford would never treat a woman with such disrespect. Not to mention, I’m royalty. Everyone in Akron knows my name.

    cecily

    July 2, 2009 at 9:41 am

  27. It’s great to see you’re back, Nate. We’ve all missed you. I was very upset to see people attacking your integrity, especially because you are always so careful to check your information before you post anything here. Having said that, I think Brazil beat the US on Sunday, 3-2. You probably stopped watching when the game was still on and the US was ahead. But truth is Brazil would NEVER lose to the US in soccer, of all games. American football, maybe. Soccer, no.
    I don’t really know about the game because I didn’t watch it. I was participating in the first Gay Pride Parade in my city, in the South of Brazil. Seriously. It was great. Nate, I think you should take part in Gay Pride Parades too.

    Lola

    July 3, 2009 at 7:18 am

  28. Oh, Cecily, let’s get this show on the road. I wish you and Nate could be together once and for all. I mean, he’s a conservative man, you’re a former Miss Ohio. What else could anyone want?
    By the way, I lived in Detroit for one year and I don’t remember any suburb called Ohio, Wreck. I think you’re mistaken: isn’t Ohio a suburb of Chicago?
    Paulo, are you Brazilian? I’m not asking that just because it took you 246 posts to notice Nate’s parody. It’s because of your name, really.
    I’d love to say I’m a former Miss Brazil, but nobody would believe me. And besides, I’m a feminazi.
    Where’s Steve?

    Lola

    July 3, 2009 at 7:25 am

  29. Lola – Does your husband know you go to such parades? I will never understand Brazil. I watched 30 minutes of Lambada: The Forbidden Dance the other day and it didn’t help. Today I ate at a Brazilian Steak House, but all that I learned was that a lot of red meat leaves me tired. I am pretty sure the soccer game ended with the US winning 2-0. All the players ran off the field.

    thatsrightnate

    July 3, 2009 at 7:40 pm

  30. Lola,

    Well at least it didn’t take me 250 posts. I’m no moron. Just another faceless victim of Poe’s Law. I think I would’ve realized quicker had I not met so many real nutjobs over the years that argue similarly.

    I’m not brazillian, but I do love playing soccer.

    Nate,

    You are truly a freaking evil genius.

    Paulo

    July 6, 2009 at 10:47 am

  31. What about meeeeeeeeeeeeeeee?

    cecily

    July 6, 2009 at 11:22 am

  32. Cecily,

    Sorry, but I am already taken. I would not mind so much dating a former Miss Ohio, but my wife would rightly chop off my buckeyes…and I have grown quite fond of them over the years.

    Paulo

    July 6, 2009 at 11:38 am

  33. Do you have any handsome, wealthy and conservative friends? Buckeyes optional!

    cecily

    July 6, 2009 at 12:14 pm

  34. Evil genius does have a nice ring to it.

    thatsrightnate

    July 6, 2009 at 9:02 pm

  35. I think I have found my new home.

    Cecily, do you want to be friends? I could be that homely girlfriend you go out with, so you can meet all the guys.

    I just like to tag along, you know. I could try and amuse them with trivia, so that they turn to you for entertainment! I have lots of ideas. Call me!

    Big Leggedwoman

    July 7, 2009 at 10:14 am

  36. Pull up a seat, just understand I’m not going to date you or anything. Only looking for hot Christian women between 20 and 28 with strong financial prospects.

    thatsrightnate

    July 7, 2009 at 10:41 am

  37. BLW, Do you have a title? I’m a former Miss Ohio.

    cecily

    July 7, 2009 at 1:34 pm

  38. OMG! Can’t believe I missed this activity last week!

    Nate: I’ll be happy just to sit in with your crowd.

    Cecily: I don’t hold any titles currently but I am a former rodeo clown and Jeopardy Champion.

    Big Leggedwoman

    July 13, 2009 at 11:39 am

  39. Sounds like you’re perfectly qualified to sit in with our group.

    thatsrightnate

    July 13, 2009 at 2:54 pm

  40. Nate, you old smoothie.

    Big Leggedwoman

    July 13, 2009 at 4:45 pm

  41. […] mentioned meeting up with Martin Loviglio at the GRPSEC.  In my mind it’s a travesty that neither Martin Loviglio who is the founder […]


Leave a Reply

