That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Sarah, Goodbye Doesn’t Mean Forever

with one comment

Usually, when I go a day without blogging, it means either I was very busy or I was working on something blog related. I was inspired yesterday to work on a Sarah Palin video. I went so far as to figure out how to get audio from Youtube (as well as video…just not together). My new computer does a great job of taking out vocals and I was going to use it to remove Billy Joel from Say Goodbye to Hollywood. Unfortunately, Billy Joel isn’t that easy to get rid of. When I burned the CD, there were his vocals. I tried a karaoke backing track, but it kept in too many backgrounds competing with my lyrics.

You guys definitely missed out. I will say, my singing voice is amazing. I have a 9 octave range and I consider myself one of the last of the great singer songwriters. Here are the song lyrics that I would have sung:

Sarah’s headin’ to Wasilla tonight
Left behind her spa class tanning bed.
Playing point guard on this team, call a screen
Higher calling’s what she said.
Say goodbye to Anchorage
Say goodbye, my baby
Say goodbye to Anchorage
Say goodbye you betcha.

Quitting’s not something easy to do
But the press has been so mean everywhere
She’s like MJ quitting the Bulls
When he decided baseball was his career
Say goodbye to Anchorage
Say goodbye, my baby
Say goodbye to Anchorage
Say goodbye, you betcha

Chorus:
Movin’ on is a chance you take
When you decide to run – for governor
You get one chance to run
Then you find that the chance you had
Is gone forever
Forever

So many people quit every day
Shelley Long
Comes to mind for leaving Cheers
Life is a series of hellos and goodbyes
You know Brett Favre retires every year.
Say goodbye to Anchorage
Say goodbye, my baby
Say goodbye to Anchorage
Say goodbye, you betcha

There’s a video of Billy Joel doing the original here, if you’re not familiar with the song. Needless to say, it was your loss.

I decided instead to make a montage, but between getting new blank CDs, finding pictures, editing, playing with a few new toys, and then dealing with Youtube’s obnoxious copyright policy where music is concerned, you’re looking at about 15 hours work. Phew.

Written by thatsrightnate

July 6, 2009 at 7:13 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A great video Nate. I only wish you had mentioned that the recently crowned Miss Georgia quit 12 hours after winning the Miss Georgia pageant. She wanted to go back to being a middle school teacher. I’m sure her maverickyness was a great influence on the former Miss Wasilia than any of the examples you give.

    cecily

    July 6, 2009 at 7:26 pm


Leave a Reply

