That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Obama’s Surgeon General is Just Too Fat

with 18 comments

Koop Flexing

Former Surgeon General used to flex his mighty guns and tell people, "take two of these and call me in the morning."

Last week, President Obama announced that he was naming Dr. Regina Benjamin to be his Surgeon General.   To start with Dr. Benjamin isn’t even a surgeon.   She’s a general practicioner who operated a medical clinic in Hurricane Katrina ravaged Alabama.   Wow, sure must be hard to build a successful practice in a hurricane ravaged area.

What has incensed myself and others though, isn’t her practice it’s her weight.   Dr. Benjamin is a very large woman who could stand to lose a good 60 to 80 pounds.   The problem is she’s going to be the one giving health advice to the nation.  How am I supposed to fill my overweight daughter with the requisite shame and humiliation to do something about her weight when she sees a woman like this making health decisions for the country.

I have chronicled my daughter with obesity in this blog before.  At 13 years old she is 5’7″ and almost 120 pounds.  She has finally lost 5 pounds after a couple years of forced weigh ins, mandatory calisthenics, and junk food searches.  I believe that the excess weight she’s been carrying has affected her health and may be responsible for recent fainting spells.  I do believe is she continues to work at the weight loss, she could be a reasonably attractive girl.

I am extremely disappointed that Rush Limbaugh hasn’t nailed Obama on this one yet, but I have found other voices who will not be intimidated by the  high fat apologists who claim that things like genetics and metabolism play a larger role in weight than willpower.   I do not agree with his religious views, but noted Wican author Bruce Goldwell stated in his blog, “I smell something very wrong about how Obama and Pal-osi are working to push their agenda through on the American people. I sure how that people pay attention here and contact their representatives and say NO. Instead, tell your representative you want them to work on Healthcare cost and that we the people will work on our belt lines.”   Think how much money would be saved if people would just stop after one slice of cheesecake.

One comment on the ABC News report about Benjamin hit the nail on the head, “This woman isn’t super fat but true super fatties are ugly and disgusting and need to be turned into fertilizer or maybe whale oil.It’s a fact!And people on foodstamps…foodstamps should be cut to zero. The gov’t should come up with a nutritious footstuff people can eat on welfare. Like oatmeal and beans and other foodstuffs. Nutritious but not likely to be abused by the damn fatties because it doesn’t taste good. Let them have as much of it as they want.The “poor” are buying sugar sodas and twinkies with my money and I’m sick of it. Damn them.”

It’s all a question of willpower which is the reason that white people have a lower level of obesity than minorities do.   People living in poverty who didn’t have the willpower to pull themselves out are of course not going to have the willpower to order only one Big Mac so the rare is higher among the poor too.   Like most guys, I’ve put on 5 pounds a year since turning 30 a decade ago, but the reason that I’m still in control of my weight isn’t because of some fancy gym or watching what I eat–it’s willpower.   If I can instill that in my daughter I will be a happy man. It’s time for this country to stand tall and proclaim from the highest mountain top as one people, “No fat chicks.”

Written by thatsrightnate

July 21, 2009 at 5:21 pm

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What an utter crock of bullshit – white men have lower level of obesity because they have more will power! In that case the American Indians and the Asian/Pacific Islander beat the pants off of you, you bloody racist! I pity your poor daughter, having a racist ignorant man for her dad. Check the facts.

    http://www.statehealthfacts.org/comparebar.jsp?ind=91&cat=2

    bishop

    July 21, 2009 at 6:40 pm

  2. Actually, it’s only the Asians that beat us and with all the martial arts, I’m not surprised they’ve developed their willpower.

    thatsrightnate

    July 21, 2009 at 7:01 pm

  3. Gosh, you must be drinking a lot of cool-aid, buddy. Do you think all Asians come from China and that they are all kungfu champs? Have you not heard of Sumo? Oh… I see that weird smile there – you are just kidding here, right? At least you agree that the Asians are better than the whites, thank God for little favors!

    (And you,ve of course, seen all those homeless poors lining outside the McDonald drive-ins, ordering a bunch of Big Macs for themselves, right?!)

    bishop

    July 21, 2009 at 7:16 pm

  4. It makes it very difficult to get in for my own lunch.

    thatsrightnate

    July 21, 2009 at 7:52 pm

  5. AT 5’7″, 120 lbs is NOT overweight. You’re far more likely setting your daughter up for a lifetime of failure, afer years of your abuse. OTOH, YOU have gained 50 lbs in the last 10 years, and claim you’re ‘in control’ with a straight face? Obviously, you think only anorexic young women are acceptable, but fat, middle-aged males are okay. Check.

    WhatACrock!

    July 21, 2009 at 8:42 pm

  6. Nate, did Bishop call you a racist and then say Asians are better than Whites? I’ll admit that I like Ramen noodles, but those asians weren’t looking so tough at Hiroshima and Nagasaki. Once Godzilla is taken out, they have no backup plan. And I think WhatACrock! is bishop using another name.

    wrecksracer

    July 21, 2009 at 10:58 pm

  7. Wrecks–I have noticed similarities in their posting, that’s for sure.

    thatsrightnate

    July 22, 2009 at 5:05 am

  8. Nate:
    LOL – I must say that I cannot take your comments seriously, at least you made me laugh. You have probably been trying to be a satirist here, and I fell for it!

    Wreaksracer:
    If you read my comments you would notice that I did not say Asians were better. I merely pointed out that by Nate’s own reasoning Asians would appear to have better will power, and guess what? Nate agrees that they do beat the whites because they know all the martial arts!

    Anyhoo, I think I’d better leave this article alone before it turns my brain to mush. Good luck to you two.

    Bishop

    July 22, 2009 at 8:44 am

  9. I just wish that the former Miss Ohio were here to add some balance to this discussion. Perhaps she is having a light lunch of beans and other foodstuffs.

    Big Leggedwoman

    July 22, 2009 at 3:47 pm

  10. I don’t think she eats lunch. I’m not sure

    thatsrightnate

    July 22, 2009 at 4:08 pm

  11. Nate: and that is the kind of sacrifice that is required of a pageant queen. If she is to be a true role model for young girls everywhere. Such as.

    Big Leggedwoman

    July 22, 2009 at 5:49 pm

  12. When I read about this woman being attacked for not being thin enough, for some reason the first thing I thought was, “I wonder what Nate will have to say about it.” I knew you wouldn’t miss this and you never disappoint. Hardly ever.

    zenyenta

    July 22, 2009 at 9:40 pm

  13. Thanks Zen. I’m glad you feel that way 🙂

    thatsrightnate

    July 23, 2009 at 5:49 am

  14. Too bad the former Miss Ohio is too busy eating, but here’s the blog’s official fat chick, me! (well, other than your daughter, Nate). I understand your concern about Dr. Benjamin’s bad influence on the American people. Surely all girls will look at her and want to be fat. And maybe black too. Oh my God, it’s so much better when girls have anorexic role top models to look up to!

    Lola

    July 23, 2009 at 7:55 am

  15. I was not eating! I was in Texas helping to stage the Prettiest Princess Pageant. I demand that Nate make a correction in those comments that suggest I eat beans, or lunch. As a father, Nate is right on track with Emily. If he could get another ten pounds off of pudgetta, she’s have pageant potential. Nate, think of the college money she could earn if she had a better body!

    cecily

    July 23, 2009 at 3:39 pm

  16. Lola: those anorexic girls give me my requisite self-loathing every day. Oh why can’t I be perfect like they *cough* Photoshop * are?

    bigleggedwoman

    July 23, 2009 at 4:03 pm

  17. How can someone nicknamed “bigleggedwoman” complain about her looks? I mean, even if I weren’t fat, I could never be Gisele Bundschen! Her LEGS are taller than all of me.
    About Dr. Benjamin, how did that feminist ad go? Something like “it’s better for girls to have woman doctors for role models than models for role models”. Something like that. But you know, feminists! Always trying to disturb the natural order of things. Obviously any woman has to be evaluated for her appearance. And Dr. Benjamin has failed that exam.

    Lola

    July 23, 2009 at 9:20 pm

  18. […] Obama’s Surgeon General is Just Too Fat (www.thatsrightnate.com) […]


Leave a Reply

