That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Nate Reaches Out

with 9 comments

NatereachesoutToday, I am going to kick off a new segment in my blog which is called Nate Reaches Out.   The idea behind this recurring feature is that a lot of my readers need help.   While I already had a bachelor’s degree, I feel that my honorary associate’s degree from Eugene Sawyer Community College has with it certain responsibilities.  One of them is community service.  If you have a question or problem that I can use my expertise to help you with, please let me know.

Today’s problem comes from Lola.  She just receiver her PHD from a Brazilian university.  I know, I didn’t know they had universities either.  However, she is interested in a job teaching English and if we’re ever going to get Brazil to adopt English as it’s official language, I thought this was a good cause.

Ok, here are the themes I need to study for my contest. The opening is for a professor of Linguistics and Literature in English in a public university in the Northeast of Brazil. Google “Fortaleza” and you’ll see that this city is paradise and that God is indeed Brazilian.
1. Theme, focus and information processing
2. From sentence to text (the notion of “text” and grammatical devices)
3. Sentence types and discourse functions
4. The interrelation between the sound system of English and other areas of research
5. Mood and Modality
6. The Semantics of the English Verbs
7. The Complexity of English Noun Clauses
8. Renaissance Elizabethan Theater
9. Romanticism in Britain
10. Romanticism in America
11. The Irish Literary Movement: The Celtic Twilight
12. The short story as Literary Form: A study of case
13. The Novel of Reconstruction: The lost generation
14. The Harlem Literary Renaissance
15. American Theater: Eugene O’Neill & Tennessee Williams

[You will obviously have to expand on this.  These are just starting points]

1. You are always going to want to start out with a good theme.  In America that’s the key to a successful televsion show as well.  Focus let’s you know what people are saying that you have to pay attention to and what you can ignore.  Information processing is the way that we humans process information also the brave American soldiers and it’s got to be about jobs.

2. There is a major difference in grammar between sentence and text.  For instance, the sentence “Oh my, did you see what she was wearing later? I was laughing about it.”  as a text it would be written “OMG, did U C wht she was wearing l8r? LOL”

3. There are 4 types of sentences –

  1. Declarative – usually involves a statement
  2. Imperative – usually  involves an exclamation
  3. Interrogative – usually involves a question
  4. Harsh Interrogative – usually involves a water board

4. The English make lousy sound systems, I would stick with Japanese.

5. This sounds like one of those touchy feely liberal arts type questions.  I don’t do those.

6. I won’t answer this because I don’t want to be accused of being anti-semantic.

7. English noun clauses are very simple as soon as you get to the subject, just ignore the other worrds.  It’s too much work anyway.  For instance, in the sentence, “What I had for breakfast gave me heartburn”  What is enough for a subject you don’t have to do the whole clause.

8. For the 20 minutes I saw of Shakespeare in Love, I can tell you Elizabethean Theater is bor-ring.

9. Romanticism in Britain is very limited by their culture.  They were brought up to keep a stiff upper lip and not really enjoy sex or romance.

10. Romanticism in America is much better.   I think it’s because of rock and roll, but even before then.   The only problem with American romance is when the guy is working very hard to put food on the table and a roof over the family’s head and while he’s working his wife is running around behind his back with the trainer who lives across the street.

11. The Irish Literay Movement consists of novels written by drunken authors like Jame Joyce’s Ulysses (which was a major disappointment to me as it had nothing to do with our former President and famous Civil War general) as well as Irish pub songs about drinking

12. America’s love affair with the short story is ingrained upon us from an early age.   No character has influenced more Americans over the years than Bazooka Joe.

13. People call this generation The Lost Generation because of the pheonomenal success of JJ Abrahams’ Lost television show.  Most people who read the Lost novels will tell you that Gregory Maquire does the best job of reconstructing the excitement of the show.

14. The Harlem Literay Renaisance was characterized by a vibrant art and literary scene in the black neighborhood of New York.  Much of The Cosby show’s look and sound were influenced by the Harlem Renaisance and many famous jazz musicians visited the house.

15. Both were depressing drunks.  If you want to impress the judges discuss modern American theatre–I’d suggest Grease or the Billy Joel musical Stepping Out.

Written by thatsrightnate

July 28, 2009 at 7:28 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank goodness Lola doesn’t need help preparing for a spelling test.

    Steve

    July 28, 2009 at 7:44 pm

  2. Hi Nate, I need your help too. Like most pageant girls, I don’t have time or shoes for sports. However, I know the World Series is important. A former Miss Illinois just told me that a really long time ago the Chicago Cubs threw the World Series to make money. Is this true? Love ya!

    Cecily

    July 28, 2009 at 7:47 pm

  3. Yes Cecily that is true. While nowadays, nobody would think of paying the Cubs to lose a game in the 1918 World Series against the Boston Red Sox. Ironically, it was in investigating claims that the Cubs’ crosstown rivals The White Sox threw the 1919 World Series that evidence of the Cubs dishonesty had come to life. In fact, the White Sox were influenced by the Cubs in selling their own honor.

    This article comes from http://mlb-rumors.blogspot.com/2008/04/did-cubs-throw-1918-world-series.html. However, the Sporting News did a big article on it last year.

    A newly found affidavit from the 1920 Grand Jury hearings has claims that the Cubs may have thrown the 1918 World Series against the Red Sox. White Sox pitcher Eddie Cicotte told 1920 Cook Country Grand Jury that the Cubs influenced the Sox. The idea came up on a train ride from New York, when they said the previous years Series was fixed, according to players. Well it is not certain that gamblers fixed the Series, Charles Comiskey’s right hand man, Harry Grabiner, supposedly indicated in his lost diaries that the 1918 series was fixed. Taking a look at the box scores, they definitely support the claim:

    “The Cubs were picked off three times, including twice in the decisive Game 6. That game was lost, 2-1, on a 2-run error by Cubs right fielder Max Flack. Game 4 had been tied, 2-2, in the eighth inning, when Cubs pitcher Shufflin’ Phil Douglas gave up a single, followed by a passed ball, followed by an errant throw on a bunt attempt that allowed the winning run to score.”

    This is some pretty serious information, and I wonder if anything will be made of it. Maybe it is karma from the 1918 series that the Cubs haven’t won since 1908. It is too bad though that the Cubs are hitting the century mark instead of the 90-year mark. Either way, it is still a long time.

    thatsrightnate

    July 28, 2009 at 8:05 pm

  4. Does this mean you are branching out into an advice column Nate? I couldn’t be happier to hear this.

    beccy joe

    July 28, 2009 at 8:20 pm

  5. So, what you are saying is that it was the White Sox who threw the Series? That makes so much more sense since they are Obama’s favorite tam and he isn’t even American!

    Cecily

    July 28, 2009 at 8:22 pm

  6. Uhm, no that’s not what I was saying. The Cubs did in fact throw a World Series in 1918 a year before the White Sox.

    thatsrightnate

    July 28, 2009 at 8:51 pm

  7. How did an advice column about topics in English for a Brazilian university contest end in a talk about American football? Or baseball? I don’t know the difference.
    Thank you so much, Nate! This was hilarious! You’ve ruined the contest for me, though. Imagine if I have to teach “The Semantics of English Verbs” and then I’ll remember your “I don’t want to be accused of being anti-semantic” gag and then I’ll laugh in front of the judges! Well, if this topic is picked, I’ll be in trouble anyway. It’s better to be disqualified when we’re laughing!
    And the lost generation and romanticism in America… I’m laughing so hard it hurts!
    I also had to laugh about Steve’s quip on your spelling, Nate. I hope you don’t mind.
    Thanks a bunch, Nate. I’ll have to translate this and use it in my blog. Oh, the only thing my readers will be terribly upset is that part when you thought there were no universities in Brazil.
    People, you’d just love Fortaleza. I mean it. You have no idea. I hope you come to Brazil for your vacations.

    Lola

    July 28, 2009 at 9:42 pm

  8. Nate! OMG! I laughed from the beggining until the end! I saw your blog at Lola’s and I loved it. Keep up the good work and how we always say here (it’s 1pm now): Buenas Tardes! o/

    Fortaleza is incredible as many cities here. Try to see pics of “Salvador” – it’s a beautiful place as well.

    Ana Luiza

    August 5, 2009 at 10:05 am

  9. Mucho Gracias Ana 🙂

    thatsrightnate

    August 5, 2009 at 2:16 pm


Leave a Reply

