That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Back Home with a Lot on My Mind

with 3 comments

It was a great trip for Emily and I despite some tensions between us.   We had lunch yesterday in Tulsa at Hank’s Hamburgers with Martin Loviglio who told Emily about how there are many more opportunities for women nowadays including owning and operating their own self storage business.  I think she was inspired.   I was really inspired by the Big Okie Burger at Hanks–Four quarter-pound patties, four slices of cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, pickles, grilled onions, raw onions and mustard are all neatly arrayed in a bun to become Hank’s masterpiece.   I had a side of the chili frito pie and washed it down with a very thick old fashioned malt.

Emily and I had some rough times as I mentioned before, but I think I showed her the cool side of the self storage business and I hope my talk to her about her weight will help.   Really, at 120 pounds her BMI is in the healthy range, but she’s never going to be popular until she drops 10-15 more pounds.  I think she sees it now and will look back on our father daughter time fondly, despite some tears. I came back to see the Republicans kicking butt.

Investor’s Business Daily changed their article I wrote about Stephen Hawking last week.  I was disappointed that they wouldn’t stick by their guns, but I really admire their proactive approach of just changing the editorial instead of going through the messy steps of printing a retraction.

Sam (Joe the Plumber) Wurzelbacher challenged Nacny Pelosi to a fight after she called people who called the over the top crowds at town hall meetings Unamerican for attempting to silence those in favor of socialized medicine. “You know, I’m not the most civilized person,” Wurzelbacher continued. “Those kind of people, I usually took behind the woodshed and just beat the livin’ tar out of ’em.”  You have to love his fighting spirit.

I’m happy to be back in Chicago and though I unfortunately missed the conservative bloggers conference in Pittsburgh this year, my love of this country has been invigorated by seeing placed I hadn’t seen before and meeting new people.   Tomorrow, I’ll start letting the left have it again.

Written by thatsrightnate

August 17, 2009 at 8:31 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yum! A big okie burger, chili frito pie, and a malt? It sounds like heaven! I’m just worried that you might not be setting a good example. What did Emily get?

    wrecksracer

    August 18, 2009 at 6:51 am

  2. Welcome home, Nate. All is right with the right again!

    bigleggedwoman

    August 18, 2009 at 7:57 am

  3. She had one as well. We were celebrating. I suggested and she agreed not to have breakfast or lunch the next day. Thanks for the warm welcome!

    thatsrightnate

    August 18, 2009 at 8:04 pm


Leave a Reply

