That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Cowboys and Jessica Simpson Provide a Teachable Moment

with 2 comments

fat-cartoon

Today,  Burger King and the Dallas Cowboys apologized to Jessica Simpson  for an advertisement that was run on Fox TV during their NFL pregame show.   Fox’s NFL coverage is usually the stuff of high brow humor concocted by anchors like Terry Bradshaw and Jillian Barberie and I was sorry to see the apologies because for my daughter and myself it provided a wonderful teachable moment.

You see, my daughter has a weight problem that I have discussed in this very blog before.   At 13 years old she is 5’7″ and nearly 125 pounds she may not be clinically obese, but years of public schools raising her “self esteem” have given her the mistaken impression that people will love her for her heart and her passion no matter how grotesquely fat she becomes.   I have been after her for 3 years now to drop 20 pounds, but she has refused.    I’ve had her run everyday and tried to put her on very restrictive diets, but never have had any luck.

This Sunday, I think she may have finally gotten it.   Neither her nor I are particular fans of Jessica Simpson, but I think that the Fox segment let her see for herself just how disgusting fat chicks are.   My daughter is extremely brilliant.  Her teachers gush about her to me when I go to pick up her report card.  I want her to have whatever future she wants.  She could be a dancer, or an actress, or maybe she’ll just want to stay home and raise a family.  I don’t want any of those avenues closed off to her because of her problem.

I applaud Fox and Burger King for helping me get this message through to my daughter.  The habits she learns now will last a lifetime and it is well past time she began skipping meals and avoiding fatty foods like ice cream and meat.  I’ve always been a huge fan of John McCain, but he had little luck reigning in his daughter Megan’s weight.  I hope that I can have more luck with Emily, but I know that if we do not mock the fat chicks in our culture, the odds of me getting through to my own daughter shrink considerably.

Written by thatsrightnate

October 15, 2009 at 8:30 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I hope Jessica Simpson has found love this time with Jeremy Renner. She deserves to get a fresh guy in her life.

    Benedict Fernberg

    May 7, 2010 at 3:42 am

  2. I idolized the relationship of Jessica Simpson with her boyfriend, Eric Johnson that is still going strong. Both were gazing at each other tenderly and keeping the smiles off their faces. Im happy for you both

    Duncan Gustis

    September 20, 2010 at 9:05 am


Leave a Reply

