That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

The War Over Halloween

with one comment

judgeIt has been a great Halloween at the Peele household so far.  My 13 year old daughter  Emily and I are here this afternoon before she goes to a party tonight.   Emily is dressed as a Sexy Supreme Court Justice.   She was very inspired by Justice Sotomayor’s hearings (don’t ask me why), but the only costumes they make for girls anymore are all sexy.     In the past, instead of passing out candy I have put an empty bowl on the porch with a note that said “Honor System, Take Only One Please”.  That seemed to work just fine.  Emily was always after me to pass out actual candy, but with my daughter barely at 5″7″ and pushing 120 pounds you can guess where half that candy was going to wind up.

As my longtime readers know, Halloween is very important to me.   There is a radical atheist movement in this country that is trying to remove all traces of Halloween’s Christian origins from the holiday.  This year I decided that I would give all trick or treaters Chick Tracts.   These are great comics that warn children of the dangers of sinful things like murder, homosexuality, Catholicism, and Dungeons and Dragons (2nd edition–3rd and 4th have yet to be declared evil, possibly because they use d20 systems).   The look of surprise on the faces of the neighbor children as I pass them out has been well worth it.

When we give into the radical atheists who wish to dechristianize Halloween we all lose.   We can’t allow the pagans and atheists who would take over this Christian holiday to have their way.  I get so irritated when I hear somebody wish me a happy pumpkin day because I know that they have avoided wishing me a Happy Halloween.   Remember, something hallow is something holy–what is a pumpkin day?  It just isn’t the same thing.   Well, it’s time for me to drive Emily to her little party–I can’t believe how girls dress nowadays.  I guess I’m lucky that she’s fat and not very attractive.   Have a great Halloween everybody!!

Written by thatsrightnate

October 31, 2009 at 4:25 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nate, I think all that sugar you ate today is messing with your mind. On Monday, you were celebrating the one true faith — Catholicism — for originating Halloween as a Christian holiday. Today, you are back to hating on us again. Even as you send your daughter out dressed as a Sexy Catholic Supreme Court Justice? Put down the Twix and the Kit Kats Nate. You’ve had enough.

    steve

    October 31, 2009 at 8:21 pm


Leave a Reply

