That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Poor People Must Work Harder

with 6 comments

As I was driving through a questionable neighborhood on the South Side of Chicago last night, it occurred to me that my expensive truck was out of place amid the urban squalor.    As I saw old people scurrying down the street in tattered Fall jackets, it occurred to me that I probably spend more on gas in a week then some of these people earn.   It’s very sad to drive down city streets and see the very people who should be building up our economy thrown away on the city streets with no job and no prospects.   Has the system failed them?  I think not.   They have failed the system and for that, they owe those of us who are capitalists a big apology.

If this country is to make it out of the economic morass that the Obama administration has put us in, we need everybody.  When America struggled through the Great Depression, there was a veritable army of plucky youngsters selling apples and newspapers.  When was the last time that you had somebody come up to you and try to sell you an apple?  Has America really lost that kind of spirit and desire to better it’s lot in life?   My dad had it.   He started out from humble upper middle class beginnings and built a multi-million dollar business that he could be proud to leave to me.  I have dreams of my daughter someday marrying a man who I could leave my business to and I continue to steward it for just such an eventuality.

The poor are lazy and ruining our economy just when we need them most.   Maybe, it’s the result of well meaning liberals who have coddled the poor.   Maybe they just weren’t fortunate enough to have a John Peele to teach them the value of a buck.   One thing’s for sure, until they stop lounging around and start taking the initiative, we are doomed to a jobless recovery.  If I was poor right now, I’d probably collect wood and build furniture that I could sell.  I’m sure if people put their mind to it, they could come up with some great ideas too.   Rich and poor we’re all in this together–that’s what America is all about.

 

 

Written by thatsrightnate

November 12, 2009 at 10:44 pm

Posted in Economy

Tagged with , , , , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh Nate, just because I haven’t been commenting here lately doesn’t mean I don’t love you! You’re hilarious as always. I wish you could have a son to be your rightful heir. How are reproductive negotiations going with the former Miss Ohio?

    Lola

    November 14, 2009 at 4:15 pm

  2. Glad to have you checking in Lola :). To be honest, she’s kind of a flake.

    thatsrightnate

    November 14, 2009 at 4:43 pm

  3. Hi Lola,

    I’m here everyday, but most of the time old Nate blocks me. Former Miss Ohios need a platrom to speak about our issues, but Nate likes to silence me. But, I’m kind of mad at you too Lola. You were no help when I wanted to be an Olympic Hostess. Now, I want to go rogue.

    Cecily

    cecily

    November 14, 2009 at 5:25 pm

  4. So I gather the former Miss Ohio and Nate are not going to produce an heir after all? Come on, people! Put your differences aside. We need more conservative men in the world!

    Lola

    November 15, 2009 at 8:07 am

  5. I’m saving myself for Representative Jack Kimble (R-CA). Nate was mesmerized my Gina long ago. Now you know why she never posts on this site anymore.

    cecily

    November 15, 2009 at 3:28 pm

  6. interesting read!

    AV Accessories

    January 16, 2010 at 8:42 am


Leave a Reply

