That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Conservative of the Year My Ass

with 2 comments

Sometimes, I simply do not get Human Events.   Last year, they named Sarah Palin as their Conservative of the Year and I got it.  She introduced a whole new generation of voters to the GOP and had a way of putting complex policy into simple language that might not have made it understandable, but at least made it homey sounding.  She also helped lead a historic Presidential campaign with John McCain.   I started the most influential blog on the right, but conservative circles are filled with influential blogs.

This year however, should have been my year.   Friends told me I was a shoe in.  Instead, the award went to Dick Cheney.   Now, I am a big fan of Dick Cheney.  Don’t get me wrong here.  However, this year let’s look at our accomplishments.

Dick Cheney
Criticized the President of the United States on a near weekly basis.

Now don’t get me wrong, that’s great.  We need to keep the heat on the Obama administration.  In fact, Human Events says, “The irrefutable answer is that what Cheney is saying, primarily on foreign policy, defense and anti-terrorism, makes sense to more and more American citizens growing increasingly worried by the Obama Administration’s insouciance when U.S. national interests are threatened, both at home and abroad.”

That’s great.   Now, let’s look at what I accomplished this year:

Nate Peele

Now, I don’t want this to sound like sour grapes.  I’m not posting this to attack Dick Cheney or to say that I should be Conservative of the Year, but I think when you compare our accomplishments during just 2009, I come out significantly ahead. I believe the reason that I lost is that John Bolton is intimidated by my mustache.

Written by thatsrightnate

December 22, 2009 at 10:33 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s a pity, Nate. You clearly deserved it more than Dick. And not to mention that I’m sure you’re a better hunter. Then again, I’ve been telling you to get rid of your mustache. Merry Christmas, Nate and dear readers!

    Lola

    December 24, 2009 at 7:02 am

  2. Merry Christmas Lola or whatever holiday you celebrate in Brazil. Thanks for being a part of this blog.

    thatsrightnate

    December 24, 2009 at 11:35 am


Leave a Reply

