That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Final 2009 Natie Awards Announced

with 6 comments

Gentle readers, I thank you for you patience from our usual format as we honor that which is truly special about the world of blogging.  I am proud of my contribution to political discourse in the country.   There were over 50 Natie awards this year in our biggest Natie awards yet.  The vast majority of these awards were for technical things like typography and layout and were awarded in a separate ceremony earlier this afternoon. The remaining two Naties are for video production and for contributor of the year.

Video Production: This year, we’ve been fortunate to air a large number of videos on this blog.   We’ve shown everything from music videos to campaign ads.  No, actually we’ve really only shown music videos and campaign ads.  Here are this year’s nominees for video of the year.   Double clicking on them will give you the video in full size:

Bye Bye Bush – Nate Peele Director

House Salute – Nate Peele Director

Republican Delight – Nate Peele Director

Texas Hold On – Nate Peele Director

Kimble for Congress Ad #2 –Larry Appleton Director

Kimble for Congress Spanish Ad – Larry Appleton Director

And the Winner is…Republican Delight.   When Michael Steele first put the word out for an edgier more urban Republican party, we were on it like Rush Limbaugh at an Old Country Buffet.  The resulting work gets across Republican values with the hip hop beats that keep it real for today’s urban youth.

The Natie for contributor of the year was difficult to award.  2009 was the first year when we have had guest commentators and Jack Kimble certainly has done more than his fair share of contibruting.   Some of our favorite commentators haven’t been around in awhile.  Zenyenta who was our first fan is no longer on the internet, Gina, Fraser, and Wrecks haven’t responded here in awhile.  Shannon has gone away, she’s drifting off to sea.   Steve has moved to Texas and doesn’t post nearly as frequently as he once did.   We’ve had some recent additions to our family in Cecily and Kodauzhf McJim, but neither of them have really had the sheet volume of posts needed to qualify.

We’ve had some tremendous followers on Twitter and I hate to mention them all for fear I’ll forget a few.   That’s the reason I’ve stopped doing Follow Fridays.   However, these people stand out for their support in Retweeting @chloebeetle @Kbenninato @KennethLibby @Dasani_01 @Aliceinthewater @Csmith2471 @Tab42 @Gottalaff.  Yeah, I knew I’d leave off people.  I’m trying to think in terms of retweeting instead of just basic support.

The winner for contributor of the year is Lola.  She’s been with this blog from very early on and she is largely responsible for my popularity in Brazil, which I understand is daunting.  She’s always been great about linking to my columns which she finds particularly interesting.  So there you have it the 2009 Natie winners.   For those of you who didn’t win this year, now you have something to aspire to for 2010.

Written by thatsrightnate

December 30, 2009 at 11:16 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The contributor of the year was rigged. You needed to honor a woman to keep things PC and you went with the ethnic. In terms of sheer volume, Cecily trumps Lola any day. You’ve been influenced too much by those one world order folks. this is why we need Louie Gohmert in the White House. He gives honest, hard-working, white Americans like Cecily and me a chance!

    steve

    December 31, 2009 at 8:49 am

  2. Thanks so much, Nate! I didn’t get to know about the award until today. Sorry, yesterday I didn’t come here. Actually, it was Steve who left a comment on my blog telling me to check out this post. It is my great honor to be chosen contributor of the year. But really, I wouldn’t want to have the former Miss Ohio as my enemy. And also, I don’t think I commented as much in 2009 as I did in 2008. Not only here, but on all the blogs I comment on. And 2010 is going to be worse, since I’ll have very little time, now that I’m going to be a kickass university professor and all. But I’ll be coming here as often as I can. Your blog is wonderful, it makes me laugh (it even makes my grumpy old hubby laugh!) and keeps me informed about American politics as well. And I also love the witty comments you and your readers post here. Keep them coming! I also hope your vast popularity in Brazil continues to increase.
    And Steve, please don’t give up on commenting. It’s not as if you don’t have internet in Texas, is it?

    Lola

    January 1, 2010 at 2:38 pm

  3. Lola, it was a well-deserved honor. Good luck as a kick ass professor. I’m glad to know that my blog helped you to land that job.

    thatsrightnate

    January 1, 2010 at 7:24 pm

  4. Lola,

    That’s strange. being a high powered university professor in this country means Steve has MORE time to read blogs, not less. In pageants, if for any reason the winner cannot fulfill the duties of commentator queen the title (and crown) pass on to the first runner up. I believe that would be me. Am I right Nate?

    Happy New Year to you and your people.
    Cecily

    cecily

    January 2, 2010 at 8:19 am

  5. Sorry, Wrecks has posted twice in the last two days. Wrecks gets second.

    thatsrightnate

    January 3, 2010 at 12:16 am

  6. Wrecks would be in second place for 2010, but I clearly finished in second — if not first — for 2009 and therefore, by pageant rules, I deserve the crown. I don’t want to get all trial lawyer about this, but I roomed with Miss Vermont and she was in her second year at Penn Foster Law School!

    cecily

    January 3, 2010 at 7:16 am


Leave a Reply

