That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Blogroll Amnesty Day

with 3 comments

I almost let Blogroll Amnesty Day pass me by.   I blame this on the demise of Jon Swift’s brilliant blog. If you like my blog, I promise you’ll love his because many people believed I was him when I started blogging.  I especially recommend checking out his Amazon.com  book reviews.  As Jon  Swift explains it:

Ironically, Blogroll Amnesty Day had a net positive effect for the blogosphere as a whole. I discovered a number of great blogs and made new friends and I am sure that is true for others as well. And so instead of remembering February 3 as a day that will live in infamy, let’s turn this day into a celebration of the power of smaller blogs. Let’s recognize that building an inclusive community of diverse voices is what the blogosphere should be about, not creating a new elite to replace the old mainstream media elite.

The goal of Blogroll Amnesty Day is for bloggers to link to smaller blogs that you like so that some of your readers will make their way over and you can build up the smaller blog readership.   I avoided blogs that are already on my blogroll so this year, I think I’m going to make the focus be on education:

Edumacation Archive – OK, this is cheating because it’s my own education blog so I won’t count it as 1 of my 5.  It is smaller though and less frequently updated than this one.  However, it definitely gives you a different side of my writing.

1. Schools Matter – A great source for education news.  Kenneth Libby is a great Twitter Friends and even their blogroll is fantastic although it does have one glaring omission (see above).

2. Porkchop Express – OK this guy is just flat out weird, but he linked to me.

3. I Like Argyle – The blog of a Twitter friend who is unfortunately liberal, but a snazzy dresser.

4. My Mental Dumping Ground – Australian Cricket fan now living in California so if you do write him a comment type it very slowly and take a break for tea.

5. Blue Gal – I doubt she’s smaller than I am, but she’s had several blogs which can make her hard to find.  She’s one of the people I learned about Blogroll Amnesty Day from so she gets a link.

6. Kimble for Congress – I said I’d avoid my blogroll, but hey when the rest of you bums get elected to congress, I’ll make an exception for you too.

Written by thatsrightnate

February 3, 2010 at 10:26 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for the linky love! I’ve actually blogged at the url you linked to since 2004; other off-shoot blogs have come and gone. I’m very grateful for the mention. Thanks.

    Blue Gal

    February 4, 2010 at 10:01 am

  2. JUTONIE —> Já Usaram Todos Os Nomes… Inclusive Este!

    http://jutonie.blogspot.com/

    Um site com conteúdos variados, desde dica de modas para homens e mulheres até tudo o que você deve aprender sobre o mundo do Direito para não ser mais lesado.

    JUTONIE

    February 22, 2010 at 9:03 pm

  3. Yes, and make sure you polish your balls.

    LJSearles

    August 7, 2010 at 1:31 am


Leave a Reply

