That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Greetings from the Tea Party Convention

with 4 comments

I’m excited to be writing to you from the National Tea Party Convention in beautiful Nashville, TN.    This convention counting airfare is running me over $1,000 but it’s worth it to support a worthy grassroots cause like the tea parties.  My day has been very full and enjoyable.  I’ve learned more about NASCAR than I had ever known–being from Chicago and I felt a sense of American pride that I have never felt before outside of a Lee Greenwood concert.

My day was very full.  After flying in this morning, I hit the convention.   Ray Stevens provided the entertainment and I swear The Streak is just as fun as it was when it first hit the charts in the 1970s.  Tom Tancredo provided the keynote for the evening and I got to listen to him with California Congressman Jack Kimble.  There were two breakout sessions and I think I got a lot out of both of them.

The 50 Most Common Demonstration Sign Misspellings and How to Avoid Them was terrific.  It was taught by Dr. E.Y. Hansen who was an English professor at Dartmouth before he was fired for teaching Creationism in his class.  I learned a lot including that Fascism actually has an “s” in the middle.   Dr. Hansen gave everybody a laminated list of frequently misspelled words from Tea Bag rallies so that even a moran would be able to protest without embarrassing themselves.

The second breakout session was taught by a Mindy Carlson who was a former Kansas City Chief cheerleader.  It was discovered after several large tea parties last year that we were terrible at cheering on command.  Several times the Fox anchor would hold the microphone out to hear us and you only hear a smattering of voices.   What we learned wasn’t really cheering or choreography so much as pep–the sort of manly cheering that George Bush did in College.

I’m going with some cool Alabama tea baggers to watch Birth of a Nation.  I like old movies and it seems to be the only DVD anybody has around here.  I’ll keep you posted tomorrow.

Written by thatsrightnate

February 4, 2010 at 9:35 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How is the tea at these parties? Can you get me a recipe for Sweet Tea while you’re there?

    wrecksracer

    February 5, 2010 at 3:00 pm

  2. […] it. Truth and the power of the oppressed fuels a revolution. Someone who can afford over $1000 to attend  what amounts to a KKK convention over a weekend surely cannot be placed into the category of the oppressed. Especially in this […]

  3. OMG! That sign! It’s just priceless… And the spelling lessons. Too funny…

    Shannon

    February 24, 2010 at 6:54 pm

  4. Great to see you posting Shannon 🙂 It’s always a pleasure

    thatsrightnate

    February 24, 2010 at 10:01 pm


Leave a Reply

