That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Tea Party National Convention – Day 2

leave a comment »

I’m reporting back from the Tea Party National Convention and I have to say, it’s like Disney World for conservatives.   The morning was very promising.  Smart Girl Politics had a breakout session on “How to do Voter Registration Drives and Where to Find Conservative Votes” & “Women in Politics”.   Unfortunately, I accidentally read it as Find Conservative Women, but that’s actually what it turned into.   A lot of them were kind of old, but I was able to give my business card to a lot of girls and I told them to meet me at the hotel lobby tonight after 11PM.  I hope that this pays off.

Young Americans for Freedom also had a breakout session in the morning and it was great.   The topic was how to involve the youth in the conservative movement and I got a loud round of applause when I suggested golf as a great gateway to conservatism.  We agreed to try and reach out to young people in our communities to bring them over to the conservative cause.  The seminar focused on how to find potential tea party members.  It seems a lot of the current movement members were loners in high school.  They had some common hobbies like hunting small animals or watching fires.    It also seems oddly that a lot of tea party members had issues with wetting the bed into their teens.  Now, obviously we won’t be targeting bed wetters to join, but it shows just how open the spirit here is that so many people were willing to admit it.

The third breakout session on Conservative Arts and Crafts was great.  I made an ashtray that is shaped like a gun rack.  I was real proud of it and I can’t wait to see it tomorrow when it dries.  There were a lot of awesome things made here.  You’d be amazed how many things you can make a sock into.

There was so much good stuff tonight.  I’m just getting back from seeing Joseph Farah and Angela McGlowan.  They were as amazing as you could imagine.   Angela was fair and balanced, but Joe was a great rabble rouser.  His main point was how we can overthrow the government which seems a little extreme, but certainly interesting.  The diversity here is amazing.  I looked around the convention center and you could see white people, Caucasians, Anglo-Saxons, WASPS–it was breathtaking.   I’m off to a karaoke party and I want to get there early before somebody else does a Toby Keith song.

Leave a Reply

