That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Red Skull Demands Apology from Tea Party Protesters

with one comment

Recently, Marvel Comics unleashed a firestorm of controversy when an issue of Captain America #602 featured a story about Nazi supervillain The Red Skull whose new plot to destroy America involved starting a grassroots movement of people who call themselves Watchdogs and extremely anti-government and anti-tax.  Captain America investigates the group’s ties to militant white supremacists.  As a result, we see a long shot of Watchdog protesters and many of them are carrying the same signs as those carried by Tea Party protesters.  Marvel has since apologized for accidentally making the Teabaggers seem like crazy right wing extremists, which of course is very far from the truth.

Marvel Comics editor-in-chief Joe Quesada apologized saying that he could “absolutely see how some people are upset about this,” Quesada said that there was “zero discussion to include a group that looked like a Tea Party demonstration,” adding, “There was no thought that it represented a particular group.”

Tea Party founder founder Judson Phillips said the apology “sounds less like a genuine ‘we’re sorry’ than it does a ‘we’re sorry we got caught’ statement.”

Unfortunately, nobody seems to have bothered to get the Red Skull’s opinion on the matter before now.   Fortunately, Thatsrightnate.com has been very fortunate to be able to contact the Red Skull and set up an interview from his undisclosed bunker location.

Thatsrightnate: Thank you for joining us.  Should I call you Red Skull or Mister Skull or what would you like to be called?

Red Skull: Soon you and your entire pathetic mongrel country shall call me Master as I crush you beneath my boot heel, but for now Red Skull is fine.  Thanks for having me.

TRN: How do you feel about this situation?  It seems that Marvel has created quite a bit of controversy this time.

RS: First, allow me to say that the Tea Party is a great organization.   I admire their steadfast resolve and I believe very strongly that if I were to run for Congress, that the Tea Party would be among the first to support me.   I’ve worked with AIM in the past, so I’m used to having goofy looking followers.  That doesn’t bother me in the least.  On the other hand, I really believe that they need to get over themselves.  In the 1990 Captain America movie, I was depicted as Italian.   It’s been 20 years, but that still smarts.  What director in their right mind decides that the Italians are the enemy that most symbolizes the villainy of World War II.  I think Tarantino learned a lot before making Inglorious Bastards.

TRN: So you think you’ve been depicted worse than the Tea Partiers?

RS: Ja!  Have you seen Hogan’s Heroes?  How about The Great Escape or Stalag 17? If anybody should be angry about this it’s the brave German soldier.

TRN: So you feel you are the wronged party here?

RS: Oh yes.   Look, imagine you’ve spent the last 65 years building up an empire of pure evil with your only goal being world domination.   Then a long come these punks and they start making money off of your ideas.   Man, I do wish I had thought of the Tea Party Convention thing though–nice touch.  Still, I want people to fear me.   When I say, “The United States  is being destroyed from within by the cowardly mud races” it has some bite.  When people take the thunder out of my language and replace it with “How’s that hopey changey thing working for you?” it hurts my ears.  Much like the Republican Party, I had hoped I could control these people, but I’m afraid they’re just to0 radical for me.

TRN: Is there anything you’d like to say to the Tea Party Organizers?

RS: Apologize to me for this affront and I shall kill you…Gott en himmel!! it’s SHIELD again.  I’m sorry, but I have to go.  It is so hard to find good minions these days.

Written by thatsrightnate

February 12, 2010 at 8:20 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. liked this blog!

    teapartylatest

    April 10, 2010 at 5:25 am


Leave a Reply

