That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

CPAC – I Am Back Among My People

with 2 comments

Since going to the Tea Party National Convention, I have been missing my conservative friends.   Sure Antwan and Manuel talk supply side economics and returning to limited government with me at work, but frankly, I can tell their hearts aren’t in it.   Manuel wasn’t even living in this country under Reagan and Antwan wasn’t born until Bush Sr. took office.   I didn’t know I’d be able to attend CPAC until it was too late to book a room, so fortunately longtime blog friend Congressman Jack Kimble was kind enough to put me up for the convention.

After my flight came into Washington, Kimble was kind enough to pick me up at the airport and we headed to his favorite Washington, DC restaurant–Roy Rogers which is a burger place, but you can actually get cheeseburger with ham on it.   After a tasty meal,  we were off to the convention center to check in and get a look around.   The exhibitors are great this year and I expect that I’ll be spending big money there this year.   The John Boehner Spray Tan really looks natural and I saw an Appalachian Trail guide book that I really liked.  Being there with Congressman Kimble was great because he was able to introduce me around.   I have to say, I am developing quite a crush on Marsha Blackburn, which I understand is actually pretty normal for congress.

Tonight, we avoided the big speeches and a Ronald Reagan film and headed back to Kimble’s modest apartment.  I was a bit jet lagged and I want to make the most of tomorrow.   We put on our pajamas and Congressman Kimble had made some homemade brownies before I arrived so we basically have been eating brownies and watching the Olympics.   It’s going to be time to turn in soon.   I love CPAC.  If I have a choice, I’m making this a yearly thing.  Seeing the sea of diversity–red heads, blonde people, brunettes, gray haired older folks, and bald people all of us uniting together and let me tell you, there is a very palpable buzz pushing Dick Cheney to run for President in 2012.

Written by thatsrightnate

February 18, 2010 at 10:29 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lord, ya think they got enough stars and stripes up there? If you can’t be real, just be loud, I guess….

    Shannon

    February 24, 2010 at 6:44 pm

  2. Why not be real loud?

    thatsrightnate

    February 24, 2010 at 10:00 pm


Leave a Reply

