That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

My 2nd Blogiversary

with 6 comments

Things have been a bit sad around here and with a busy weekend and my edumacation archive blog to update, it’s been a few days since I got to update this blog.   However, I am glad to be back posting in time to celebrate my second blogiversary   My blog began on March 6, 2008, but the first post was just really to see how it worked.  My first real post was on March 07, 2008 and it provided a helpful primer to make sure that you weren’t voting for the Anti-Christ.

Preparation of the blog actually began over  a decade earlier.  As some of you long time readers know, Thatrightnate.com is actually based on the novel Push by Sapphire.   It was her depiction of a young, overweight, illiterate, brutalized Harlem teenager, Precious that provided the first inspiration.  From that character that I first developed the concept for this blog in 2005.   Unfortunately, as I workshopped the blog and focus grouped the narrative voice it became clear that people were not comfortable reading about Precious’ struggles.   Eventually she was replaced by the character of Nate Peele, a conservative self-storage owner/operator.  Many elements of Precious remained.  Her adolescent weight problem was transferred to Nate’s daughter Emily and Nate kept the same desire to survive despite the abuse they both face.

After choosing Nate as the voice of the blog, assembling a crack team was the next step.   I made a deal with a blog head hunting firm out of Dallas, Texas called Word Co.   The fine folks at Word Co. began to scour the internet for the top writers that they could find.   Together, they were able to establish a crack team of 6 writers from all over the United States allowing me to concentrate on acting as head writer and more importantly editor in chief of the blog’s content.

A blog is nothing, however, without a look.   The prices I was quoted by graphic artists in the United States were way out of line with the budget that I had been given by Freedom Works.   I found much reasonable rates from several firms overseas before finally settling on a Filipino company.  The look came together and we were shooting for a March 1, 2008 launch date.  Unfortunately, cost overruns and an issue with one of the writers who had to be replaced, left us a week short.  On March 7, 2008 the blog was launched.   I have yet to hear about it from Sapphire, but I believe despite the changes we have remained true to her dream.  For the past 2 years, we have provided the type of conservative commentary you cannot get anywhere else.  Are countless Natie awards and over a quarter of a million readers say to me that we must be doing something right.  To you the readers, I wish you a very happy Blogiversary.

Written by thatsrightnate

March 7, 2010 at 9:16 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations.

    I did not realize how much work went into establishing a sound foundation of being based on a good book, proper workshopping and focus grouping, recruiting a crack writing team and so on – but it obviously shows in your industry leading collection of Natie awards. I wonder what you might have accomplished if graphic artists in the United States weren’t such greedy prima donas forcing you to seek that service in the Philippines.

    maruda

    March 8, 2010 at 4:35 am

  2. Congratulations on the second blogiversary, Nate. Even though I’d been reading it very early on I had no idea about the backstory to this blog. It’s beautiful. Made me want to cry. Not enough to run for a tissue or anything, but still..

    zenyenta

    March 8, 2010 at 5:26 am

  3. Thank you Maruda–I tell you this, unions are killing this country. Still, the Filipino graphic designers do nice work I think.

    Zen – Glad that you enjoyed. Sometimes, I just like to share the inner workings of the blog with my faithful readers. Sapphire gave me an excellent blueprint to work off of.

    thatsrightnate

    March 8, 2010 at 6:37 am

  4. Happy Blogiversary, Nate….

    Shannon

    March 8, 2010 at 10:35 pm

  5. Thanks Shannon 🙂

    thatsrightnate

    March 8, 2010 at 11:08 pm

  6. Hi Natie, Happy Anniversary. This is a real triumph for righteousness, but while thanking all the little people behind you, you made an important omission. Don’t the rag tag group of former pageant girls and ex-actors like Steve, Lola, and I deserve credit for writing your comments at 10 cents a word?

    Cecily

    March 9, 2010 at 6:06 pm


Leave a Reply

