That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Kick-Ass is Super Fun for the Whole Family

with 2 comments

It seems every couple of years, somehow Hollywood manages to produce a family movie that is not trying to indoctrinate our children with liberal propaganda like Wall-E or trying to turn them into eco-terrorists like most Disney films.  I can happily report that based on the commercials that I’ve seen, Kick-Ass is exactly the kind of old-fashioned family entertainment that this country needs.

I have not been able to see the movie yet, but I am giving it my highest review of four stars based on what I’ve seen.  The movie stars a precocious boy who goes by the name Kick-Ass and the girl pictured with this article named Hit Girl.   Together they take the criminal underworld by storm not using superpowers, but using their wits and their can do spirit.   It sort of reminds of Mickey Rooney and Judy Garland saying, “Hey I’ve got a barn, let’s put on a show.”

What makes Kick-Ass stand out is it’s a family film.   Now, a family film is different than a kids film in that it can not only be enjoyed by kids, but by adults as well.  I find it refreshing that these kids don’t spend their days wrapped up in video games, but instead fight crime and best of all, they don’t seem to believe in coddling criminals.   I’ve been hoping for a movie that I could feel comfortable taking my young daughter to for sometime and Kick-Ass is just that kind of film.  I can’t wait to take her to see this movie.

Nate’s Review: ****

Written by thatsrightnate

April 17, 2010 at 8:35 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I also haven’t seen this film. Since I have minor children I also don’t have to. Yay!

    zenyenta

    April 18, 2010 at 5:44 pm

  2. i have watch this movie with my bestfriend..it was a fun movie and yeah, young kids shouldnt watch it..it’s too bloody…but it’s one fun movie

    Mary Peck

    April 19, 2010 at 8:55 am


Leave a Reply

