That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Congressman Kimble’s Victory Speech

leave a comment »

He’s a friend of the blog so even though I’ve been off for awhile, I didn’t want to miss his victory speech from his primary victory.  Kimble beat Paul Salazar in the 54th District by 72% – 24%.  The people of California must love Jack as much as we do.


Thank you.  It is people like you who came here tonight. I come tonight with a very, very full heart.

And I want especially to thank the voters of the 54th District. Over the last week, I listened to you and, in the process, I found myself why I hadn’t done this sooner.

(APPLAUSE)

I felt like we all spoke from our hearts, and I am so gratified that you responded. Now, together, let’s give America the kind of victory that California has just given me.

(APPLAUSE)

For all the ups and downs of this campaign, you helped remind everyone that politics isn’t a game. This campaign is about people, about making a difference in your lives, about making sure that everyone in this country has the opportunity to live up to his or her God-given potential, about scary government programs and even scarier minorities. That has been the work of my life.

We are facing a moment of so many big challenges.

(APPLAUSE)

We know we face challenges here at home, around the world, so many challenges for the people whose lives I’ve been privileged to be part of.   We have skyrocketing unemployment, illegal immigrants pouring over the border, and even the most advanced DVD players still flash 12:00 uncontrollably.

I’ve met families in this state and all over our country who’ve lost their homes to foreclosures, men and women who work day and night but can’t pay the bills and hope they don’t get sick because they can’t afford health insurance, young people who can’t afford to go to college to pursue their dreams, senior citizens with neighbors who won’t stay off their lawns.

(APPLAUSE)

Too many have been invisible for too long. Well, you are not invisible to me.

(APPLAUSE)

The oil companies, the drug companies, the health insurance companies, the predatory student loan companies have had four years of a representative who stands up for them. Let’s give them another two.

(APPLAUSE)

I intend to be that representative, to be a representative who may not put you first, but always puts your lives, your families, your children, your futures somewhere in the top ten. I believe deeply in America, in our can-do spirit, in our ability to meet any challenge and solve any problem. I believe in what we can do together to serve our corporate masters.

In the future, we will build together. There will be no more invisible conservatives. So we’re going to take what we’ve learned here in California and we’re going to rally on and make our case. We are in it for the long run.

(APPLAUSE)

And that is because we are in it for the people of the only state courageous enough to have a bear on their state flag.

(APPLAUSE)

This victory will serve notice that people across our district know what’s really at stake, that we will all be called upon to deliver on the promise of America. We’ll be called upon to deliver on the promise that the wealthy will grow and prosper again, and that they will trickle down their blessings on the lower classes.

(APPLAUSE)

To deliver on the promise that the greatest generation will have their shot at the American dream, to deliver on the promise that we’ll have the will and the wisdom to create television shows like Murder She Wrote and Diagnosis Murder once again.

(APPLAUSE)

To deliver on the promise of not leaving one inch of ocean floor left undrilled for the oil that fuels our economy.

(APPLAUSE)

We know that for the promise of America to be real, we are called upon to deliver on that promise. And if you join in this call to greatness, we will together answer. So, if you are called will you join with me to promise to answer and when you answer will you promise to go and when you go will you answer the promise of America.

(APPLAUSE)

We are determined to tackle our toughest problems and stand up for those who most need a champion, because we are determined to make America work again for all of our people. We came back tonight because you spoke loudly and clearly.

You want this campaign to be about you, but this is my campaign and it must be about me, but you have shown me that you like me.  You really like me.

(APPLAUSE)

I want to thank Paul Salazar and his staff for their incredible commitment, their passion and their heart. I want to thank my entire family, particularly my wife who cut short her hike on the Appalachian Trail to be home and watch this speech tonight.

(APPLAUSE)

I want to thank my extraordinary staff that never faltered one minute and all the volunteers that my father loaned to me from the family farm..

I want to thank the old people across this district who came out.

(APPLAUSE)

They asked the hard questions, and they voted their hearts and their minds, and I really hope that this will not be necessary in the general election.  You can trust me now.

(APPLAUSE)

Thank you, and God bless you.

Written by thatsrightnate

June 13, 2010 at 9:15 pm

Leave a Reply

