That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Rand Paul and John Belushi – A Double Standard

with 3 comments

Rand Paul has recently come under fire after an article from GQ magazine.   The article claimed that Paul and another student abducted her:

According to this woman, who requested anonymity because of her current job as a clinical psychologist, “He and Randy came to my house, they knocked on my door, and then they blindfolded me, tied me up, and put me in their car. They took me to their apartment and tried to force me to take bong hits. They’d been smoking pot.” After the woman refused to smoke with them, Paul and his friend put her back in their car and drove to the countryside outside of Waco, where they stopped near a creek. “They told me their god was ‘Aqua Buddha’ and that I needed to bow down and worship him,” the woman recalls. “They blindfolded me and made me bow down to ‘Aqua Buddha’ in the creek. I had to say, ‘I worship you Aqua Buddha, I worship you.’ At Baylor, there were people actively going around trying to save you and we had to go to chapel, so worshiping idols was a big no-no.”

Now, I must admit that this action didn’t particularly shock me.  I think abducting people is perfectly natural and if it wasn’t, God would not have given us abductor muscles.  Kidnapping, endangerment, and drug use are things that happen on every college campus across America on a regular basis.  However, I see a very serious double standard. In fact, I see this as a plus because if the US is ever going to kidnap al-Qaeda leaders and bring them to justice, it’s nice to have experience in the legislative branch telling us what will and won’t work.

At the end of the movie Animal House, the Bluto character played by John Belushi showed up at the Faber Homecoming Parade and dressed like a pirate he proceeded to abduct a blonde coed to laughter and cheers from the audience.  In fact, after showing this picture a caption came on screen to say that Bluto was later married to this woman and elected Senator.  Bluto was a hero.

Compare the reaction to what Bluto did to the scathing attacks that it has brought on Rand Paul.   Is the problem that Belushi and his friends were anti-establishment anti-military radicals, while Rand is a true blooded conservative?  Whatever the reason, there is clearly a double standard here.

Written by thatsrightnate

August 10, 2010 at 6:55 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. He is not supposed to be a pirate. He is supposed to be Albanian.

    steve

    August 10, 2010 at 7:36 pm

  2. But you already gave the answer – Bluto married the girl and therefor everything was okay.

    maruda

    August 12, 2010 at 1:58 am

  3. I hadn’t thought of that. It’s this girl’s fault for not marrying our Rand

    thatsrightnate

    August 12, 2010 at 8:53 pm


Leave a Reply

