That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

Under Cover Investigation on Prayer in Schools

with 11 comments

My friend Tom, has an old beat up van that he had no idea what to do with.  At least he didn’t until he was inspired by Glenn Beck to start a ministry and he turned his van into a church van.  Then last week I got a bright idea.  I could borrow his van to do an under cover investigation of prayer in public schools.  Public  Schools like to say that while they don’t support public prayer, they are perfectly happy to allow students a few moments of silent prayer or meditation in the morning.   God forbid, that little Mohammad or Cynthia who has two mommies be scandalized by some good old fashioned religion.

My experience though has been that public schools actively discourage prayer.   With that in mind, we painted over the windows of the van to provide students with a quiet relaxing place where they could pray.  I put on some dark sunglasses so that nobody would recognize me from the blog and I took the church van to 10 local school parking lots.  I would wait for a student who was looking lonely or isolated and I’d encourage him or to climb in the back of the van and pray.  It became pretty clear to me pretty quickly by the horrified reaction of screaming children, that their parents who taught them that prayer was something to fear.

I could have lived with this, but the reaction of the schools themselves was even worse.  Not only did they not encourage students to pray, I got the police called on my 8 times, I got 2 large security guards chasing me around a parking lot, and I got maced twice.  Is this the kind of attitude that we accept in our public schools towards prayer?  No wonder Glenn Beck says we’ve lost our way.    Something must be done.

Written by thatsrightnate

September 2, 2010 at 8:30 pm

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is a magnificent satire. Keep up the good work.

    MRoche

    September 2, 2010 at 8:39 pm

  2. I need to cross-post this on PrayerPatriotsAgainstSchoolin.com

    This here kinda action against God fearin undercover reporters such as… cannot stand!!

    Cody_K

    September 2, 2010 at 8:53 pm

  3. Nate it breaks my heart. I read about your efforts and I am impressed beyond description. I am deeply enhopened that there are men like you trying to set America straight (and right!). Then when I read the comments such as from MRoche and I am nearly in despair that he just doesn’t get it and writes it all off as satire.

    Obviously he is not paying attention. As I recall you came up with a fairly clear statement against satire not so long ago and nothing reinforces it like this malicious level of misunderstandment.

    maruda

    September 3, 2010 at 9:16 am

  4. Thank you all for your kind support. All we ask is for students to have the option to get in the back of the prayer van. I’m wondering if dressing up like a Catholic Priest with a collar would help.

    thatsrightnate

    September 3, 2010 at 12:43 pm

  5. Shouldn’t satire have an actual point? Besides the one on the head of its author, I mean. What does this so-called satire prove? That perverts will use any means to accomplish their perversions? Wasn’t it John Gacy who bragged that he could get away with anything while being dressed up as a clown?

    So why the rush to paint all people of faith as perverts because some other cons have used them as a cover? The first thing you learn when dealing with cons is that they ALWAYS look to associate themselves with something credible in order to fool the mark. How old are you that you haven’t figured this out?

    And what makes you think your satire is credible when you so obviously HAVEN’T figured out something so simple? It’s easy to take cheap shots at those who try to do something meaningful with their lives–far easier than it is to sit on your lumpy tuckus and sleaze out schlock and label it as a ‘blog’ or ‘satire’. Like so many folks, you need to examine the meaning of satire before you cheapen that meaning with the kind of low-life cheap shots you’d hear from any drunk in a bar.

    You can start by getting over yourself and your obvious over-estimation of your own prejudices–which you try to dignify by labeling them as ‘ideas’ or ‘satire’. Frankly, you stink at both. Probably because both need to actually be thought through before you inflict them on the rest of the world.

    Not that I expect you will. You do come across as of the same mindset as a certain group that cares about nothing but its own self. One could only wish that such people would find something actually worth something to dedicate themselves to. Because you bore the hell out of us grown ups.

    “Look at me! I’m a humorist! All I have to do is trash someone who makes my own life look like crap! Yes, I can ass-cend the ladder of suck-cess(pool) by playing on the guilty conscience of other low-life types like me! HOOYAH!”

    Yeah, real impressive. Sheesh. Let’s see if you’ve got enough guts to leave this comment up. LOL.

    Your blog needs some help

    September 8, 2010 at 12:41 pm

  6. YourBlogNeedsSomeHelp – I completely understand your reference to con artists shielding themselves in the cloaks of others. Christian Apologetics do the same with science as they try to explain why they still believe in 2000 year old myths. This is how we get the Creation Museum which has the audacity to actually show humans riding dinosaurs! Now there’s a con gone too far…

    ThatsRightNate – excellent blog – keep up the good work.

    JSigler

    September 8, 2010 at 3:21 pm

  7. Nate, what are these people talking about here? Satire? I applaud your efforts on these important conservative issues. If everybody had the courage to invite kids into the back of their van to pray, this world would be a better place!

    wrecksracer

    September 10, 2010 at 7:04 am

  8. Thank you Wrecks. I’ve issued warnings about internet satire before.

    thatsrightnate

    September 11, 2010 at 12:26 pm

  9. That’s a smart way of thkniing about it.

    Kaedon

    December 14, 2011 at 11:53 pm

  10. bg4JfE kzxjjregjxjv

    idjvmko

    December 15, 2011 at 10:14 am

  11. V65vjY ctulnchszjdt

    acgjlvrfz

    December 16, 2011 at 12:19 pm


Leave a Reply

