That’s Right Nate

Thoughts from a right thinker.

I Endorse Mike Taylor for Congress

with 3 comments

One of the great joys of starting this blog has been my communications and friendship with TJ Baker-Holm whose candidate for Republican nominee in the 18th District of Texas House of Representatives I highlighted before.  I can’t say enough about Ms. Baker-Holm and the fact that her own biography reads like everything the Republican party says it wants to see from people–selfmade, responsible, community involved.  TJ is a single mother who I believe brings a very different perspective to politics from most of congress.  If we are truely serious about bringing different voices to the table in this country Ms. Baker-Holm should have a seat of honor at that table.  I am hopeful and confident that Texas politics has not seen the last of her.  There is going to be an upcoming feature on her in Skirt magazine and I strongly encourage people to check out the Skirt website at http://houston.skirt.com/ and their talented editor Dusty Gilbert.

In the 18th District, the current incumbent is Sheila Jackson Lee who came to congress with a lot of Enron funding.  She is best known for her insistence on complimentary upgrades to first class while flying.  Her Republican candidate this time is John Faulk who TJ Baker Holm flat out accuses of receiving monetary help in the election from Ms. Jackson Lee.  Faulk and Baker have much bad blood between them inclduing Faulk sending a recent certified letter to Ms Baker Holm’s mother. 

I know that the 18th is Barbara Jordan’s district and I do reallize there are strong reasons why an African-American representative makes sense for the district, but if people are serious about change in the district, I believe that the 18th District’s Mike Taylor has the best chance for making the change a reality.  Taylor (http://www.miketaylor08.us/) is an advocate of smaller more managable government and though I am in no means a libertarian, Taylor may be just what the 18th needs.  His chances of winning are small, but the impact of every vote for him over a simple straight ticket or leaving the contest blank is huge.  That’s why I’m making Mike Taylor my first endorsement on this blog.

Written by thatsrightnate

March 30, 2008 at 3:21 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Just curious as to how much you have spoken with John Faulk.

    I live in Houston and the only bad blood between Mr. Faulk and Ms. Baker Holm that I have been aware of has been generated by Ms. Baker Holm. If there is anything else in the way of bad blood out there, I hope it is now coming from Mr. Faulk or his supporters defending him against the “flat out” false accusations of a disgruntled loser.

    I have spoken with members of Mr. Faulk’s team and they are appalled at the false allegations put forth by Ms. Baker-Holm. They have told me that Mr. Faulk is seeking an apology from Ms. Baker-Holm. He feels that his integrity has been called into question.

    polnewbie

    March 31, 2008 at 4:53 pm

  2. Having ones integrity called into question is a standard part of being in politics. I believe a thinker skin and a press release explaining his position would be a better course of action. I have chatted, via email, with Mr. Faulk, himself. I disagree with much of his platform but that has nothing to do with personal feelings. This isn’t about being personal, for me, it’s about the issues and making a difference. I don’t really see much of a difference from the norm coming from either the Republican or Democrat that will be on the ballot this coming November.

    Mike

    April 8, 2008 at 2:36 am

  3. […] our support to Scott Brown.  We have been avoiding endorsing candidates since our support for Mike Taylor and John McCain didn’t pan out so well.  However, Scott is the rare candidate who inspires […]


Leave a comment